We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Granted the location (right on the beach) is excellent, but this is one property that probably should be condemned. The place is literally falling apart! Forget the elevator...If it's prime season, you could spend your whole vacation waiting for it. Take the stairs, but be careful they don't crumble apart when you put your weight on them. The rooms are small and extremely outdated. The beds have the ever-popular crinkly mattress pad on them. Even the rooms on the top floor with the balconies are in very sorry shape! To top it all off, the service is awful. The breakfast lady began closing up a good 15 minutes before the announced time. I asked for a bagel since the line to get waffles was at least 20 minutes long. She told there weren't any more. When I pointed out an enormous unopened package of them behind the counter, she snootily replied, "Those are for tomorrow." I went to the desk to complain, but the line of people checking out/in was also at least 20 minutes long. I paid $260 a night for this trash heap. I hope others won't, but seeing as how the hotel was sold out for the next two weeks, I'm sure others will be duped as well!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmooretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 639 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2007

We had GREAT views for the fireworks of Nags Head, Manteo, & the whole area.

BUT the windows leaked from a thunderstorm- and they didn't do anything but throw a towel down on the carpet. We had to move stuff so it didn't get wet plus listen to the water drip in. There was water in the stairwells. The guy we reported to was new & didn't really know what to do. It was our first night-they put us in oceanfront because the room we reserved was occupied. So they were nice to do this only it backfired.

THEN, I found cockroaches under the coffee pot on the refrigerator.

AND I found trash under the bed from someone else's stay.

AND it was COLD in the pool in July --I guess they can't control that without a heater. They need one.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We took our first trip to the Outer Banks May 7 to 10, 2007. Loved the area, not thrilled with this hotel.

This Comfort Inn is obviously an older hotel; rooms are basic, fairly clean, staff nice. But... we stayed in rooms facing the parking lot (still saw the ocean a bit) and there is a reflective film on the windows (that do not open). The film obscured the view, was in poor condition and was covered with sand and salt, probably as a result of the nor'easter that week.

They were rebuiling the pool and sun decks which were closed until further notice. There was no where to sit outside and enjoy the view.

The hotel is literally on the tide line so there was not an area to sit on a dry beach; large sand bags are arranged around the base of the hotel to prevent more erosion.

Though it was well-located, I really missed being able to enjoy the weather and view. Call ahead and find out if the deck and pool are open before you book. Suggest you spend the extra $10 and get an oceanfront room with balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank espritcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Once again this stay was great! The staff is very helpful and always friendly! This is the best kept secret in Nags Head! This has become our Easter Break getaway!
Thanks to Barbara the reservations manager for her help!
Donald Summerville
Salem, VA

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dsummer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Ocean View was nice but door did not latch and would bang all night. Metal items in the room were rusted and the A/C unit keep us up with being too cold and noisy. Bed was lumpy- husband had backache after two nights. We were past ready to leave. First night very rude neighbors came in drunk and we were unable to stir anyone from the front desk and did not get a call back from the message we left for Randy the manager.
We did have good dining recomendations from the staff.
Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe was THE BEST!
We stayed there mostly because we wanted to take our pup with us. Would not return - too much money for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Percyfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Ocean view was great. We were 3rd floor above the pool. The staff was very friendly. The beach itself was dirty and very narrow. Beds were bad, stained sheets, holes in blankets. The air conditioners on balcony dripped from above and you would get dripped and splashed on sitting on balcony. All of these things I could tolerate if the room was not as expensive as it was. The last night of our stay my husband saw a mouse in our room. He did not tell me until we were in the car leaving. I sent an email to the hotel but did not receive a response! Don't waste your money on this hole I mean hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nich617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,593 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,184 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: $62 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing