We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First of all- This hotel is extremely dated. The shower alone is awful! We travel all through the US and Central America and this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. After about 20 minutes at the hotel, we decided to go to the front desk and request to be moved from our room. This request was because of at least 4 other rooms with barking dogs on our floor and because our 'non-smoking' room smelled like cigarettes and even had cigarette butts stuck in the ac unit in the room... Because of the quick move, we accidentally forgot our clothes that were hung in the closet until the next day when we went to wear them. Immediately I contacted the front desk (who has been as helpful as possible in the matter) to let her know of the problem and with hopes that the cleaning staff/ someone turned in our clothes. No one turned in our clothes and they are gone--- Thankfully it was only 2 or 3 of my husbands and 2 or 3 of my shirts. Either way, It is about $200+ of clothes plus the $250+ per night to stay in this dump! We usually stay in Pirates Cove which is 1,000times better. We will NEVER stay here again and hope anyone that can afford to stay somewhere else (which we can, but figured the accommodations here would be decent based on their room rate and it was one of the closest options to Oregon Inlet where we were fishing out of). Horrible mistake on our part and we will not make it again!

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel- This place is awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaDelSurNicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments to Choice Hotels International. While we sincerely regret the troubles you experienced during your stay with us, any feedback from our guests only helps us to serve you better. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and will certainly make our best effort to avoid such problems in the future. I personally went up and checked the room in regards to your belongings as well as the cigarette butts in the A/C unit. Unfortunately, I was unable to locate your items and also could not locate any cigarette butts. I can tell you that our Executive Housekeeper, whom has been employed here for 20 years as of 2013, personally cleaned that room after your move and she did not see any items left in the room, it is possible she overlooked them. Upon your moving rooms, we did check someone else in to that room, we are unable to be sure whether they found the belongings or not. If you would get in touch with me and give me a more detailed description of the shirts, we will certainly keep our eyes open for them. As of right now, we only know it was 4 - 6 shirts, half of them womens and half mens. If we do find your belongings, we will be more than happy to send them to you, free of charge. Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Jenni Sawyer
General Manager
(252) 441-6315
jenni.sawyer@hotelsobx.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    131
    71
    61
    57
See reviews for
167
199
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times and they have always been extremely friendly, very clean and accommodating. They even got us settled in when we arrived two hours early. The staff is not only friendly to the guests but they speak respectfully to each other which adds to a relaxing environment. There is always a good selection of foods for the continental breakfast and you can enjoy your breakfast out on the deck. Jeanette's pier is a short walk down the beach and offers other fun things to do and Sam and Omie's restaurant is walking distance from the hotel. I'd say the hotel is very nicely located. The view of the ocean is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The view from our room, and hallway windows were beautiful. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We even received a phone call from Jennifer at the front desk soon after we checked in to see if everything was okay and if we needed anything.
Pixie and Paulina took care of the free hot breakfast. They did a great job. Made sure we didn't run out of anything. They were very friendly also. Annie at the front desk helped me check out. She was very sweet and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Vary late arriving (2am), the person at front desk upgraded our room. We were quoted a lower price then charged, which Katrina, the manager corrected. Very good value for a pet friendly hotel. We would stay here anytime. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This motel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was right on the ocean.
My ocean front room gave a view of the sunrise from the room. Breakfast is as good as it gets and breakfast staff will accommodate your every need.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean front to see sunrise and view ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We made a last minute trip to OBX on Memorial Day weekend. Call us crazy, but I happened to get out of work so I drove down. With no reservations Comfort Inn welcomed us very promptly and everyone was extremely friendly. A lot of hotels make young guest feel uncomfortable but they treated us with great respect and were very helpful. The hotel is further south than I normally stay so I was a little reluctant but I actually really liked the location! Right at the Pier and the beach front wasn't crowed on a busy weekend which made me very happy! Wouldn't mind spending another weekend there. Highly recommended for an affordable, quick beach trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENL922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was a pleasant surprise for us. We had a beautiful view of the beach and a deck that we could sit outside and listen to the waves crash morning and night. It didn't think the hotel was that close to the beach, but it was. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. When we visit the Outer Banks again, we will definitely stay at here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing