We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great views”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times and they have always been extremely friendly, very clean and accommodating. They even got us settled in when we arrived two hours early. The staff is not only friendly to the guests but they speak respectfully to each other which adds to a relaxing environment. There is always a good selection of foods for the continental breakfast and you can enjoy your breakfast out on the deck. Jeanette's pier is a short walk down the beach and offers other fun things to do and Sam and Omie's restaurant is walking distance from the hotel. I'd say the hotel is very nicely located. The view of the ocean is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    160
    80
    62
    65
See reviews for
198
236
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The view from our room, and hallway windows were beautiful. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We even received a phone call from Jennifer at the front desk soon after we checked in to see if everything was okay and if we needed anything.
Pixie and Paulina took care of the free hot breakfast. They did a great job. Made sure we didn't run out of anything. They were very friendly also. Annie at the front desk helped me check out. She was very sweet and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Vary late arriving (2am), the person at front desk upgraded our room. We were quoted a lower price then charged, which Katrina, the manager corrected. Very good value for a pet friendly hotel. We would stay here anytime. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This motel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was right on the ocean.
My ocean front room gave a view of the sunrise from the room. Breakfast is as good as it gets and breakfast staff will accommodate your every need.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean front to see sunrise and view ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We made a last minute trip to OBX on Memorial Day weekend. Call us crazy, but I happened to get out of work so I drove down. With no reservations Comfort Inn welcomed us very promptly and everyone was extremely friendly. A lot of hotels make young guest feel uncomfortable but they treated us with great respect and were very helpful. The hotel is further south than I normally stay so I was a little reluctant but I actually really liked the location! Right at the Pier and the beach front wasn't crowed on a busy weekend which made me very happy! Wouldn't mind spending another weekend there. Highly recommended for an affordable, quick beach trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENL922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was a pleasant surprise for us. We had a beautiful view of the beach and a deck that we could sit outside and listen to the waves crash morning and night. It didn't think the hotel was that close to the beach, but it was. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. When we visit the Outer Banks again, we will definitely stay at here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Do not stay here! Our oceanfront room smelled of urine. The front door would not close without a major force. The balcony was covered in peeling paint and had a door covered in rust. There was a large gap between the balcony door and the floor which bugs could crawl through. The bathroom was old. The pool is the size of a postage stamp with 4 to 5 dingy chairs around it. Very dated property with dark hallways. Our room was unsafe and unsanitary. We checked out and did not spend the night and found a much better hotel in Kitty Hawk. Do not be lured here by the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,540 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
862 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing