We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn at Nags Head NC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
“Comfort Inn at Nags Head NC”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a wonderful ocean front room. The windows were streaked so we called housekeeping and a friendly janitor arrived and left us with a sparkling view. The hotel had a full breakfast with plenty of hot coffee, and I sat on their deck overlooking the ocean on Sunday morning dolphin watching. The beach was accessible via a staircase from the deck. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. PS I was with Beatrice K who also noted the windows, so...it was the same room!

Room Tip: ask for ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    157
    79
    62
    63
See reviews for
190
231
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The customer service was very good- Ms Owens was at the desk most of the time and she was very friendly and helpful-
The view is beautiful- There was one problem- the window was clearly not clean- you could not see the ocean from it-- i do not know how the maid service missed this because it is so glaring- on the other hand- when I called about it they were there immediately and the man who cleaned the window was very friendly-

Room Tip: Must get oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

When we walked in the room, my husband and I were truly impressed. The presentation of the room and bathroom was excellent but the balcony needed some paint, and the door had rust on it. We did love our view of the beach and water. The thing we truly hated the most was the barking dogs. We didn't realize dogs were allowed in the rooms. We will not every stay in a hotel that allows animals. The breakfast was not bad at all. Overall, if you love dogs you will like this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was an older hotel, but it was right on the beach. We were there for a wedding on Jennete's Pier which was only a 5 minute walk away. Great service, nice room, free continental breakfast. Very convenient to the highway. The check-in staff was very adept at handling an irate customer in front of us & was also helpful in suggesting good nearby restaurants. The maintenance staff expediently handled an issue in our room. Would definitely recommend it & will probably stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Motel was nice and right next to the ocean. Had my very old cat with me who stayed in her carrier most of the time and had to pay 50.00 for her for two nights just to be in the room. It was extremely busy with 5 tour busses while I was there and wall to wall people. Breakfast room was very crowded. Nice to be by the ocean, breakfast nice but should have been better considering their room prices

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missouritalllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel was quiet and nicely located right on the ocean with balconies overlooking the water. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We would go back again but we will however forego the complimentary breakfast and go somewhere else for a good meal.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff was very nice but overwhelmed due to having to answer phone for reservations and assist people who walked in. Room was clean and comfortable and there wasn't any loud noise on our floor as you can have during vacation time at the beach. My complaint would be the breakfast. The eggs were terrible the small biscuits and gravy were not good either. The breakfast area is too small for a hotel this size. People were waiting in the hall to get in. We enjoyed the room but not the breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,492 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
456 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing