We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel was quiet and nicely located right on the ocean with balconies overlooking the water. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We would go back again but we will however forego the complimentary breakfast and go somewhere else for a good meal.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean side
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 633 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff was very nice but overwhelmed due to having to answer phone for reservations and assist people who walked in. Room was clean and comfortable and there wasn't any loud noise on our floor as you can have during vacation time at the beach. My complaint would be the breakfast. The eggs were terrible the small biscuits and gravy were not good either. The breakfast area is too small for a hotel this size. People were waiting in the hall to get in. We enjoyed the room but not the breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our company, Alpha & Omega Group, had five persons stay for 16 nights continuously in order to work on a project in Manteo. The Staff of the hotel was very accommodating and professional in assisting us when needed and in general greetings. The staff made our stay very comfortable and pleasant. The Staff we interacted with primarily were Annie, Destiny, Korin and Katrina. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is my new favorite hotel, I have stayed here a couple of times, desk staff were super nice and helpful. The complementary breakfast was amazing. perfect location, Im so glad they accept dogs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

GREAT PLACE. Got a coupon on Groupon. It was cold and not many stores open but it was still fantastic. The hotel was clean and ON THE BEACH, that is all we cared about. The sheets and towels all looked and felt new. Breakfast was great. If you want your money to be towards the location then this is the place for you. You are never in the room any way so why waste the money on a fancy hotel. Already booked for end of June.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballkids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just stayed here for the weekend at the end of march. We stayed in the handicap room on the second floor. Room was clean and had very easy access to their patio. The complimentary breakfast was awesome and saved my family a lot of money. The beds was surprisingly comfortable. My parents stayed up on the ocean front fifth floor which had a perfect view of the ocean. The handicap room we had has a wider bathroom that my parents regular room had. Room to have a wheelchair in the bathroom and shut the door. Only had 1 safety bar in bathtub/shower combo. Would recommend comfort inn south oceanfront in nags head to anyone. Overall hotel was clean, nice, and staff was friendly and always ready to help.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good clean hotel, this is the one. Ocean view was nice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This property is clearly pretty old (from 1974 apparently), but in pretty decent shape nonetheless. The rooms feel a little humid, but with a jacuzzi tub in the room and the ocean right outside you can't really avoid that.

Desk staff were helpful, accommodating, and all around pleasant (at least Katrina, Korin, and Destini were...I didn't speak to anyone else down there). They even helped me avoid ELF transmitters during my stay!

Hallways can get just a hair noisy on the second floor around breakfast time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revbleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,178 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,560 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: $78 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing