We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the price!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth the price!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are a couple on a budget and I'm always looking for a bargain so we can get away once in a while. The outer banks is our home away from home and we usually stay in a rented beach house or we stay at the Cavalier Motel but I got a great deal through Choicehotels.com for a king size ocean front room at this hotel. I've read some of the negative reviews and none of them were bad enough to make me go somewhere else. We booked 2 nights for Valentines day and it was sooooooo worth it!!! First I must say that the hotel is not 5 stars so keep that in mind. I don't know why people complain about such little things when they know that they are staying at a Comfort Inn, not some ritzy high class hotel. Any hotel on the ocean will have some weathering outside and inside. The sea salt eats away at EVERYTHING. The windows will sometimes be foggy from the salt spray, which someone was complaining about in another review. But cmon!!!! the hotel has super comfy beds, awesome fresh crisp linens that I actually didn't even change out for my own!! (I'm super grossed out by most hotel linens) The view was awesome, 5th floor and we had the room at the end of the hallway. We watched dolphins play in the surf, saw some beautiful sunrises, full moon and a million stars. Yes the hotel is angled, but ocean front is still ocean front!! the room was spacious and clean with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The free breakfast was ok.. it filled our bellies before we headed out each day. Bagels, cereal, muffins, stuff to make waffles, sausages, eggs, juice, coffee, yogurt.. just to name a few. The front desk staff was a pleasure and we had no problem checking in early at all. She checked to see if a room was available since it was about 1 or 2 in the afternoon and check-in isn't until 4 and since the room was ready, she checked us in. Even the cleaning staff is super friendly. We passed them in the hallway each morning and they always said hi with a smile. All in all we had a great stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaymie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    155
    78
    61
    61
See reviews for
186
226
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The price and the location are major selling points, I was there slightly off-season so most of the guests were fishermen (not a bad sign). I was not the only person who decided to book an extra day or two after the first night's stay (although in my case that had a lot to do with Hatteras). The room was clean, quiet and secure (my must haves); very comfortable bed, free wi-fi. The breakfast buffet for a low-end chain hotel was impressive and well-maintained. The beach is terrific. Drawbacks: lack of outlets in the rooms. I had to plug the TV into the coffeemaker outlet in order to find one for my computer and phone charger (a sign of the age of the place). The beach side has balconies; the Sound side does not. I was on the Sound side and the sunsets from the 6th floor were spectacular --- what could be seen through the dirty windows. I'm assuming they will be clean by tourist season, but... One final point: while I was extending my stay and a fellow asked the desk clerk if he could hire someone to put his washing laundry in the dryer as he had to rush to an impromptu meeting. The desk clerk cheerfully said she was glad to do this if he'd leave change for the dryer which he did. Universally, I found the staff cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: get a balcony above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodhead14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

While staying at this hotel my husband had a heart attack and had to be life flighted to a hospital in another state. The fine staff at this hotel went above and beyond the call of duty to accomidate my husband and I. I flew up from Florida to find that they so neatly packed up all of his belongings (as I had requested) and carefully stored them even refrigerating his insulin and other medication that had been left in the room. I am so grateful for all their help. I stayed at this hotel over night while retreiving his belongings and have never experienced such a caring staff and beautiful and comfortable room. I highly recommend this company for their high standards of excellence.

Room Tip: If you like to hear the waves crash as you fall asleep at night this is the place to do it. Very pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Season W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Staff totally uncaring and not helpful. I got there early and asked for and early check-in they called Housekeeping and they said could be done probably around noon. 12, 1,2 would be great, so I went out and did a few things and came back @ 2 pm. The desk clerk had no idea of who I was or my request. Now I had throat cancer and have a hole in my neck and speak with an electronic device-it's EASY to remember me. She said it should not be long, I sat in the lobby waiting. At 3:54 she said my room was ready-normal time 4:00- boy I am glad I asked or I could do check-in and check-out at the same time.
The view of the ocean was average-hotel is angled so limited view.
The breakfast was below McD's. The sausage gravy was not bad, cover eggs, sausage, biscuits and with OJ and milk it's edible. That God it was free.
I had stayed at the Ramada Inn up the street and it was 10 times better.
Never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My partner and I had such a nice stay. The whirlpool room was great and clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. We were on the second floor so we had beach access. The deck was big and very clean too. The staff was courteous. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Most hotels are skeptical about hosting an entire fraternity, subsequent alumni, and their dates for a Formal event. Shannon and the staff at the Comfort Inn, however, were more than accommodating. When our original plan to have the dinner and dance portion of Formal in the ballroom at the hotel did not quite come together, we were able to compromise on what ended up working out even better; they graciously provided party buses to and from Pamlico Jacks restaurant. The result of our business was simply and undeniably nothing but spectacular. The alumni and most of the brothers reported back to me, and the alumni that did not attend, that it was by far the best Formal event they had ever been to. The venue is perfect; on the oceanfront and conveniently close to Pamlico Jacks, which was an amazing venue in itself. My utmost regards and thanks to Shannon and the staff at the hotel, I had an awesome time and hope we can do Formal there again next year.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront room, its totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

First the location; Right at the junction of Roanoke Island and the Southern Outer Banks. It is within walking distance of Jenette's Pier and close to other attractions. Beautiful view of both the ocean and the sound.
Second the staff; Friendly and helpful...most of them said "hello" when we saw them. The woman who checked us in was very enthusiastic. She wanted to make sure everything at the hotel rated a "10."
The "problems" we encountered (and these were relatively minor, we don't go to the OBX to live in a hotel room). The hallway had a slight urine smell to it, as if a dog had used the hall way, our window had a small leak (but we did get a wicked storm) and the elevator (and this was concerning) leaked water after the downpour.
None of these were deal breakers and we will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing