We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, nice,friendly staff, & clean rooms, great breakfast, fast & easy check-in & out”
Review of Hampton Inn Murphy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Murphy
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Hotel, nice,friendly staff, & clean rooms, great breakfast, fast & easy check-in & out”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is very easy to find, the staff was very nice & helpful. Our beds were very comfortable, and our 3 year old granddaughter loved it there. The breakfast was good too! Checking out was fast, and while I was checking out, I asked the staff about the HHonors system, and she signed me up right then. We will definitly be staying here and at other Hampton Inns in the future. This was a very clean and friendly place, thanks Hampton Inn Murphy!

Room Tip: Rooms are all large & clean, we took a room with 2 queen beds just in case one was hard or soft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    98
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
102
115
22
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a decent hotel. The room was clean and because I was staying multiple days, they provided me a refrigerator (which I had not asked for). Hours after I placed food in the fridge, I realized they hadn't plugged it in! Breakfast was so so if your like cereal and microwaved sausage biscuits or pancakes. After a couple of days, decided to pay for a good breakfast downtown. I think overall the hotel is fine but way overpriced especially for this time of year. It is no longer peak season and not much to draw visitors to Murphy this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLBeachLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great hotel with a great staff,helpful and friendly. The room was quite large with plenty of room. The only draw back if there was to be one was that we had no fridge in your room. The bed was a bit more firm then I would like but still had a good sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchaltry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice nice nice people! That's the first thing to know. Everyone there was incredibly helpful from making sure the room met my needs (no feathers, I'm allergic) to making sure we had a good breakfast and conversation. I've never seen so many options for breakfast! Waffles, microwavable breakfast sandwiches, and oatmeal with everything you could want to add in. The only critical thing was that the bed was HARD. We eventually slept on top of the duvet cover and that provided enough cushioning to be comfortable. It's a great location and a great staff, so we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We met relatives in Murphy and, as usual, checked Trip Advisor for hotel ideas. This is a nice clean place. But we thought there must be no real competition amongst the 5 local hotels because it was very overpriced. It's on a busy street front with no buffer across from a 24 hour Super Walmart. Area has lots of bikers this time of year. Can get noisy--beware you light sleepers!!

Yes everyone was very nice. And yes they worked hard at breakfast. Why? Breakfast area was far too small for number of guests--people stood in lobby trying to eat. There is one waffle maker vs at least 2 at even the most modest Choice Hotel properties--many people simply gave up due to the line and grabbed coffee(as we did). Alternatives were microwave egg and sandwich items that were pretty bad., some fruit cocktail cups, etc.

This hotel's webpage says they believe breakfast is the most important meal of the day and invites one to enjoy a free hot breakfast. Sorry--the reality did not live up to the billing. And with the rates charged at this property the breakfast offerings are by no means "free".

Gratefully, we only stayed one night,

Room Tip: If you must stay, ask for a top floor room facing the Best Western next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was a great hotel, top quality. Everything in our huge king bed room was nice. It even had a nice couch/sitting area. The hotel was quiet & comfortable. Breakfast had many choices & was constantly cleaned & replinished. Everyone we came in contact with was super nice, helpful & friendly from the evening attendant who recommended the nearby Brothers Restaurant to the nice lady in the breakfast area who goes above & beyond to be friendly & meet everyone's breakfast needs. The hotel owners & managers should be very proud of this staff. They make this hotel a great place to stay.
We highly recommend the Riverwalk, about 2 miles. We parked at the ballpark end & enjoyed the scenery.
We had a flat tire on the way. The Wal-Mart across the road took care of our repairs right away at 7:30 the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This is my third trip to Murphy. I have stayed at the Hampton each time. The rooms are great and the service couldn't be better. This is one of the nicest hamp tons that I have stayed in. The area is beautiful with several restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvernwhitjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
1.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
23.0 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Murphy

Property: Hampton Inn Murphy
Address: 1550 Andrews Rd, Murphy, NC 28906-5113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing