We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Of Murphy
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Overall this was a nice place to stay. Close to the road, Wal-Mart across the street, and continental breakfast (waffles, bagels, yogurt). I have no complaints other than the road noise - it is a bit loud at times, depending on traffic at night. I would highly recommend this place to stay. Our room was clean, everything worked as it should, and last minute check-in at 12:30am was a breeze.

This hotel has "free wireless" internet and is a decent speed, but a bit slower than your home cable/dsl.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    98
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
92
95
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We decided to stay overnight for the Fall Festival at the John C. Campbell Folk School. Saw a billboard for this pet friendly hotel. Stopped in hoping for a last minute room. The ladies at the front desk went above and beyond in their customer service. The bed was more comfortable than alot of the more expensive hotels we have visited. Very pet friendly and they have a sweet pup, Lil Bit, to greet you. check out his blog http://blog.murphybestwestern.com/
Time for the leaves to change so they will be quite busy. Stop in and give them a try ☺

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gacayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa beach
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We loved this little motel that is just five minutes from the center of town. Our room was recently remodeled and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast is more than adequate with the waffles being featured, like most of the competition. Best feature is they have rooms that are set aside for pets at a reasonable price. These rooms are very clean and smell great. Murphy is such a great small town, we were glad to have a good central location to explore it and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryantl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

In Murphy, your choice of hotel is very limited. All seem overpriced for the location and amenities (I mean, $75-100 for Murphy, NC? Is that a joke?).

That said, the Best Western is your bare bones kind of place: exterior corridors, no restaurant, no pool, and a basic breakfast. We chose it because it was the least expensive, chain hotel in town that would accept pets. The room was average, albeit with a musty smell, and the front desk was generally helpful. I would avoid staying here again, not because of any specific problem, but because I feel that all accomodations in Murphy are overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gburg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmurphync, Webmaster at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Inn – Murphy for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) The front desk staff was commended for the way they treated you, our valued guest.

2) Maintenance staff and housekeeping staff were notified of the nasty smell you reported and asked to look into it and see what could be done about eliminating it.

3) Breakfast staff was approached about the possibility of presenting a more varied breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Inn – Murphy. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasvhille, TN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2008

The price of this Best Western was quite cheap, and overall it was ok. The bathroom could have been cleaner, but the rest of the room was fine. Just a basic room - nothing fancy, but very affordable.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The less than spotless bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
22.9 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
291 reviews
18.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Murphy

Property: Best Western Of Murphy
Address: 1522 Andrews Road, Murphy, NC 28906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 54 room exterior corridor hotel located in the mountains of North Carolina. We are family oriented, pet friendly (limited rooms w/small fee), biker friendly and love to make our guests happy. Located near shopping, rafting, biking, dining, hiking, and the Nantahala National Forest, we offer many nearby recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Of Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy Best Western
Best Western Murphy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing