We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs freshened up.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Of Murphy
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Isom, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs freshened up.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Carpet was dirty. I did not pack house shoes so I wore my white socks in the room. Bad mistake, the bottoms of the socks quickly turned black. Mattress was worn out It felt as if it was broken down.. Room smelled musty. This room did not meet my expectations from Best Western. I would not get a room here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
88
91
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Like other Best Western hotels, this one has a rough appearance looking at it from the outside. The Hampton across the parking lot looks much nicer. The rooms themselves are actually very nice and clean. The staff was pretty helpful as well. My biggest complaint was breakfast. The hotel lobby is quite small, so there is very limited space to eat and also to get to the food. The selection was pretty limited as well. With a lot of people, it seemed like there wasn't enough food for everyone. Also, my wife would have appreciated having skim milk as an option. Overall, it was a decent hotel, but I would have preferred to have paid less for what I got.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank W4004FAandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I met clients at this Best Western every two weeks for several months (I'm in traveling sales, and a heavy hotel user). About half the time, I am on my own; other times I stay as a guest of a client. I had never encountered less-than-friendly service here, but this week the staff confronted me about eating breakfast the following morning when my name was not on the room. We had gotten "breakfast tickets" (itself kind of unusual) when we checked in, so I'm not sure what the problem was.

Regardless, the BW shares a parking lot with a Hampton Inn- it's a bit more expensive, but also a nicer place to meet my clients. Hopefully, they won't make a similar issue out of a bowl of cereal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had been traveling all day and were looking for a nice place to get some Zzzs. Saw the reviews on here and decided to stay here. Overall it wasn't bad, but nothing above and beyond. The room was clean, but the bathroom door didn't want to close without significant effort. The a/c was a bit loud, but the bed was comfy and it served its purpose. We chose not to eat breakfast here because we needed to get on the road but it looked decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSwizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a special treat for my husband & me...but especially for our 2 "pup-kids!" THEY received treats, a flashing heart medallion for their leashes and were treated like royalty! We were too! Great location, excellent staff, good breakfast, beautiful pool (though thunder kept it closed), older place, but very clean and comfortable!!! We were completing the "Manteo to Murphy" trip on Hwy. 64, and this was the perfect ending! Hopefully we can come back this way again and spend more time exploring the surrounding areas!

Room Tip: Excellent for travellers with pets!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was really comforting to walk in to an American that spoke English at the front desk. Upon arrival we requested a pet-free and smoke-free room. The very friendly worker smiled and replied "no problem". Room was very quite with the hottest water every in a hotel. Wifi worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnstravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be quite expensive considering it's location and conditions. It is definitely targeting the smoker patrons. You could not get a non smoking room and everything smelled like cigarette smoke. I gave to admit the included breakfast was pretty decent. It included pastries and hot pancakes. A mixed bag of chips. The personnel was very very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adiazjr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. It is unusual that we find anyone saying that the hotel is 'dirty and rundown." I would appreciate you contacting me and letting me know specifically what was not clean or run down so that the situation can be remedied. I do appreciate that you took the time to let us know your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
18.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Murphy

Property: Best Western Of Murphy
Address: 1522 Andrews Road, Murphy, NC 28906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 54 room exterior corridor hotel located in the mountains of North Carolina. We are family oriented, pet friendly (w/small fee), biker friendly and love to make our guests happy. Located near shopping, rafting, biking, dining, hiking, and the Nantahala National Forest, we offer many nearby recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Of Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy Best Western
Best Western Murphy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing