We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay in Murphy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Of Murphy
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another great stay in Murphy”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is my second stay at this motel and it continues to meet and/or exceed my expectations. The staff is super and provided me with a room based on my specific request(s). The swimming pool water is "crystal clear" which indicates a sincere desire to maintain the property to high standards. The parking areas and landscaping was clean/groomed. There's no need for me to try another motel in the Murphy area. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGKY1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us. It makes us feel good to know that the hard work put in by the staff is noticed and appreciated. We truly enjoy meeting our guests and want each and everyone to feel like you do. I appreciate your taking the time to write a review and do look forward to when you come through Murphy again.

Aurelia Stone, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    98
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
92
95
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My dog and I enjoyed our recent stay in Murphy. I really appreciate the friendly staff. They didn't even give me a hard time when I couldn't figure out how to work the pancake machine. This is actually the only hotel I have stayed at twice. For those going to the John C. Campbell Folk School, this motel is very close and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I appreciate your taking the time to write this review. I am very glad that you and your dog enjoyed your stay. We have several guests who are attending the John C. Campbell Folk school and always look forward to seeing their creations at the end of the class. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Aurelia Stone, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

On our trip south from Rhode Island to take son to Virginia Tech we decided to continue south to visit Alabama family stopping 1st to see the Smoky Mountains up close. We booked the Best Western from previous experience with the hotel chain. On our arrival we were warmly welcomed and treated like they'd known us for years. Our dogs (2) were also warmly welcomed and even given food and treats. The room (125) was on the ground floor with a private entrance where we had easy access to our truck. A big plus when traveling with dogs. The room was very clean, we didn't even feel we needed our Lysol. The bed was ultra comfortable and the pool that night and in the am was awesome. I liked that we could also control the in room A/C. Food was close by and the breakfast was excellent. Our next trip to Alabama will most definitely include a stop there if possible.

Room Tip: call ahead to reserve...we didn't at a BW in Tennessee and were disappointed with the quality of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. A family is more than just its human elements - it encompasses its four legged members as well. We look forward to your next visit.

Aurelia Stone, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The staff was very friendly, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. Right accross the street from Wal-Mart, which is convenient if you forgot anything. Within walking distance of food etc. They went out of their way to accomodate motorcycle riders. (extra towels for cleaning/drying the bike after rain). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We do appreciate our motorcycle guests and hope that you will come back and see us again soon.
Aurelia Stone, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed in room 219. Had hair all in tub and on bathroom floor. Had room with two queen beds but wanted to charge extra because we had four people sleeping there. I am platinum member and was very disappointed with this hotel. I bragged on this chain to friends but was embarrassed to bring them here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
I am sorry that you were disappointed in your room's cleanliness. We pride ourselves on our clean rooms and I am embarrassed that you found it to be different. I have talked to the housekeeper who cleaned the room prior to your stay and have expressed my disappointment in the job done. I do wish that you had reported this to the front desk and we could have moved you to another room.
Though it is our policy to charge for extra adults, we did not charge for the extra people in the room because you are a platinum member and stayed on your free night points.
Again I apologize and hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that we are the best in Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wonderfully pleasant staff, delightful and extremely spacious rooms for my aunt and myself, with everything we needed. To turn up on spec and get two excellent rooms was a real surprise. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from downtown, and is convenient to the local Catholic church. Breakfast was perfectly functional, and set us up for the day.

Room Tip: All of them are fine. If you have a disability, you might want the lower rooms, as I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seathrun_ceitinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. You are correct in that we do not have an elevator and guests who cannot use stairs need to let us know when making the reservation. I am glad that we were able to get you connecting rooms so you could get together anytime you wanted.
We look forward to you coming back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here two nights with my father. We enjoyed our rooms. Comfortable beds, everything was clean except the floor, it was nasty. I dont think they vacuumed in a long time. Not impressed with breakfast so we walked next door to burger king. New Hampton inn next door but the were costlier. Walmart across the street. Good location and the staff was very nice. You park outside your door. Old tv, fridge, hairdryer, some toiletries. Probably will stay again.

Room Tip: Some smoking room and pet friendly rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianesadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I apologize for any problems you had with the floor. They are vacuumed daily and we have them professionally cleaned on a regular basis. I would appreciate knowing which room you were in and when you stayed so I can take care of the carpet problem.
Our breakfast is limited by local health department regulations which will not allow us to serve a hot breakfast.
We are also in the process of modifying furniture in the room to accommodate new televisions later this year.
I hope you will be back to see us and I really do appreciate the comments - they help us improve our service.
Aurelia Stone, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
22.9 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
291 reviews
18.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Murphy

Property: Best Western Of Murphy
Address: 1522 Andrews Road, Murphy, NC 28906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 54 room exterior corridor hotel located in the mountains of North Carolina. We are family oriented, pet friendly (limited rooms w/small fee), biker friendly and love to make our guests happy. Located near shopping, rafting, biking, dining, hiking, and the Nantahala National Forest, we offer many nearby recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Of Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy Best Western
Best Western Murphy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing