We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Darn GOOD!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herb's Pit Bar-B-Que

Herb's Pit Bar-B-Que
Ranked #22 of 60 Restaurants in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Darn GOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Most of my Family lives in Murphy with me coming to visit every few years. I ate here when they first opened many years ago. I suggested that we eat there and they jumped at it. The beef and cheese sandwich is AWESOME!!!! They use the left over prime rib in the sandwich and its SOOOOO GOOODDDD!!!! Its a little outside the town but well worth it!! Give it a try you'll be happy you did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joshanjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth The Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We drove back down to Herb's Pit Bar-B-Que late on a Friday night. It appeared that they had had several large groups, as the tables were pushed together and had not been cleaned, yet. There were locals there when we got there, which was an hour before closing. Was pleasantly surprised that we could substitute the two sides for their fresh salad bar! Even though it was only an hour from closing time, their salad bar was crisp, cold, stocked, and clean! While the BBQ was not the most tender pork I've had, the sauce was a very good sweet sauce. My husband and I both liked it. He got the Herb's Kickin' Chicken (chicken breast with applewood smoked bacon, cheddar jack cheese, and fresh mushrooms.) I ate all the mushrooms off his plate. They were so good! Would definitely recommend eating here at least once!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retired13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service EVERY TIME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Herb's is consistently great with plenty of supplies on the salad bar, great service, great prices, and always great food. We love the BBQ, and the ribs, but we particularly love Saturday nights for crab leg specials. We have recommended them to our customers for a wonderful FAMILY dining place many times, and we always get positive feedback. But go early or make reservations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie1166723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great food for good price. Stopped by after rafting and would recommend this place to everyone. We had a big appetizer platter that was great the pork sandwiches were awesome and fries home made.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1403mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford,Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great food, friendly staff, awesome sundae the whole family could share! Pulled pork sandwich was the best.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NanBedford_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herb's Pit Bar-B-Que also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Herb's Pit Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing