We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making New Friends @ A Great Place To Stay”
Review of River Cove Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Cove Cabins
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Murphy
Mineral Bluff, Ga.
1 review
“Making New Friends @ A Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Four years ago while driving through the Mtns. of N.Ga. we saw a billboard for Cabin Rentals and desided to check them out. After checking out the prices at other cabins in the area we found their prices to be over half of what everyone else wanted. We have stayed with Wanda & Gary a number of times over the last four years now and plan to spend many more years with them to come. We have aways found their cabin's to be very clean and the grounds to be well kept up. We have enjoyed many nights sitting around the camp fire that they have each night. We also enjoy their cat & dog Garfield & Dixie. It's so nice to find a friendly clean place to stay and have money left over from not being ripped off from the HIGH price of all of the other cabin rentals in the mountains. River Cove Cabin's are cheaper then most motels and the owners DO speak English. I'm also 100% disabled and have no problems with their cabins and find them to be very handicap friendly. On a number of .our stays there our daughter has had a friend with her & they enjoy the game room & fishing there. On the weekends there is a number of flea markets just up the road from there with great shopping and killer whitewater rafting just down the road also. For your dollar you can't find a better deal hands down.

  • Liked — Clean, neat, handicap friendly & romantic
  • Disliked — Not having more time to stay longer
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bamareb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2008

My family rented two cabins for a summer getaway. We looked forward to it for weeks and were very disappointed. The owner, Gary was very rude to us, the rooms were not very clean and the smell of the well water was so bad in our cabin you felt dirtier after you showered. One of the guest said they were so busy they were turning customers away . I'm glad they are doing so well in tough economic times but I know seven guest they won't have to worry about ever turning away. We will not be back and will spend our hard earned money at a nicer, friendlier place next time.

  • Liked — the sceneryand quiet
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness and bad customer service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DisappointedFamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCMurphy_NC, Owner at River Cove Cabins, responded to this review, August 22, 2008
The person who wrote "bad experience" did not mention that they showed up for check-in at 7:00 am Tuesday morning. Check-in is 3:00 pm. They rang our bell and we were sleeping so we did not hear it, the office opens at 9:00. So they called on the phone and left a message that they were standing outside the door. We got up scrambled to get our clothes on and went to the door and saw them pull up to the cabins and go on inside without a key or registration. When my husband told them that this is not acceptable, the person got sharp with him. We let them stay in the cabin the additional 8 hours and I am sure any other hotel or cabin would have asked them to come back at check-in. They just decided the night before to leave early, drive through the night and get an early start on their trip. This would have been OK with us if they had just had the courtesy to call us and let us know. The cabins weren't even set up for them yet. In fact, we had a note on the
reservation page that they would be arriving late because they were coming from Florida.
I had 2 other cabins that were awakened by their early morning arrival. I get so many compliments about our place and how clean the cabins are. Yes we have well water and they told me they stayed at the cabins years ago, so they already knew that. We depend on repeat customers and we go out of our way to make people happy and comfortable. As I said before, a simple courtesy phone call could have avoided the whole situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2005

We stayed three nights and loved it. Our time at River Cove Cabins was a breath of fresh mountain air. The rates were very reasonable. Actually, we have paid more for fewer amenities at other places.
Our cabin was only forty feet from the river where we caught a stringer full of Rainbow Trout and Perch. (No license required)
The cabin was so cute! It had a kitchenette, king size bed, cable TV, coffee maker, microwave and a fireplace.
Every night the hosts, Wanda and Garry, build a fire in one of several fire pits. They supply chairs so a glass of wine, a cozy fire and your sweety is just what the doctor ordered.
We had told Wanda we wanted a place to "re-charge our batteries." She told us that River Cove Cabins was just the place. Well, she was right. We didn't want to leave.
And if you like barbeque, you've got to try Herb's! It's just down the road about five miles.
River Cove Cabins is a must, if you want a quiet, cozy mountain getaway.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile,AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2003

Murphy is a charming place where the people have manners, are courteous and want to help you.We rented a cabin from RiverCove Cabins. Its right by a babbling brook, quiet and pleasant. They also allow dogs as visitors in their cabins. They have a pool and putt-putt golf.In Murphy there is a flea market. Great restaurants and just peace and quiet.

Helpful?
18 Thank gioagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
7.9 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
363 reviews
15.1 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cove Cabins

Property: River Cove Cabins
Address: 1305 Hilltop Rd, Murphy, NC 28906-8508
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our riverfront deck overlooking the swift moving Nottely River. Enjoy fishing, campfires, horseshoes, darts, checkers, ping pong and volleyball all at our rustic Old Time Mountain Town. Our cabins are equipped with A/C and heat, full baths, cable TV, kitchenettes, microwaves, coffee makers, utensils, cookware, linens and towels, picnic tables, BBQ grills, covered front porches with rockers and riverfront views. We have a wood burning fireplace cabin, jacuzzi cabins and 1 and 2 bedroom cabins. Our covered pavilion with scenic view of the Nottely River is a great place for a BBQ with family and friends. Be sure to visit our Old Time Mercantile complete with Grandpa's Outhouse, Gem Mining and Old Fashioned Water Wheel. Murphy is at the foothills of the Appalachian, Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains. We are located between the Ocoee and Nantahala Rivers for your whitewater adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Cove Cabins Hotel Murphy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing