We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, clean and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Opelika
1 review
“Wonderful, clean and nice”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This was a fairly new hotel. The room was very comfortable, clean and affordable. The pool and hottub were very clean and relaxing. We plan to visit again in the Fall. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabama59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
27
38
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This hotel was a few dollars cheaper than others in Murphy and much better deal. Hotel is fairly new. Room was nice. Two queen beds, stuffed chair, two regular chairs, desk/table, dresser, fridge, micro. Bathroom had glass shelves which were handy for storage. Pillows and linen were great. Room was very clean. A/C worked well. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast of cheese omlet, sausage patties, biscuits, gravy, cereal, cin. buns, yogart, bagals, toast, etc. Quiet as hotel is located up on a hill overlooking the major highway through Murphy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cajun_girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyles, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

PROS: Bed was super comfy, Had an LCD screen TV, Indoor pool with a hot tub, Had a chais which is comfy, Black out curtains worked very in daylight, Express check out, WI-FI, Very clean, and friendly staff


CONS: Walls were thin and we could hear every word of the neighbors conversation (which wasn't pleasant), Toilet never did flush right and had to "borrow" a plunger, Hard to find at night because the entrance isn't lit well, A manual alpha code (that wasn't givn to us) was required to get into the pool instead of using your room key.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbs2Huds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

My parents, myself and I went to visit my aunt and uncle who live in Murphy. They do not have a large place se we opted to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. My dad reservations over the phone before we left. We arrived around 10:00pm. We were greated by a very sweet lady at the desk. She was very helpful and prompt. We stayed in rooms 313 and 311. Wow, I was taken back as soon as I walked in the door;. The room was clean as a whistle. The beds were wonderful. Our room came with a large flat screen tv. My parents even slept in (7:30) . The breakfast was so-so. I hope to have a nice of a stay on our next visit.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valdan19881988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2008

I just stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Murphy and was very pleased with the appearance and cleanliness of the room, the bathroom and amenities. There is free wireless Internet that requires no access code, there is shampoo, conditioner and lotion (they all have a cinnamon scent) and both soft and firm pillows.

In the lobby, there are coffee and cookies all night; in the morning, they have coffee, pastries, bagels, cereal, milk, juice and fruit.

It was better than what I expected, and until the Hampton Inn opens in May 2008, I think this is the best hotel in the area.

  • Liked — Good, free wireless Internet
  • Disliked — Thin comforter
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pulitzer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

This was a very nice property. We booked the deluxe queen suite. It has wonderful beds and pillows. The only problems we saw were the configuration of the suite and the noisy parking lot. There is only 1 tv in the bedroom. There is a sofa in the living room but has no tv, so it is really a useless room. It is a large room but it needs some extra furniture.
The rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. It was a little on the expensive side at $125.00 per nite. The breakfast is your typical continental style.
Hotel guests need to take lessons in hotel etiquette. Please don't slam doors and let your kids run up and down the hallways. It ruins the peace and quiet for other guests.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

I do business-related travel over 90 days a year and always stay at Hampton Inns and Holiday Inn Express facilities, so I can say with accuracy this HIE is one of the worst I have ever stayed in. After being given a room that obviously had never been cleaned, I returned to the desk, where I received no apology and was assigned another room. This room had roaches that dashed in all directions when the room light was turned on. Returning to the desk again, I asked to speak with some one in charge. The nasty desk clerk mumbled a foreign name and said he was not on the property. I then made a call to HIE guest relations and when guest relations asked the clerk if a manager was on duty guess what? The gentleman with the foreign name was in the back office and picked up the phone. It is obvious the desk clerk had been instructed to deny a manager was on the property, if any guest asked. The foreign manager then speaks with me but did not offer any apolgy and was very rude. I was then assigned a third room, which was somewhat dirty but due to the late hour, I accepted the room. I noticed the indoor pool had trash floating in the water, and the pool deck looked like it had never been cleaned. The parking lot was also litered with trash. Breakfast was awful, with luke warm coffee and very stale pastries. Very little choice. This HIE is definitely not up to HIE standards. Avoid staying here. There are many other lodging choices in town. As I was checking out, there was another angry guest waiting to complain about something in his room.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank Johnee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
385 reviews
4.1 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
268 reviews
19.9 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
291 reviews
21.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
Address: 130 Holiday Dr, Murphy, NC 28906-8111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murphy offers fresh air and amazing scenery of the Blue Ridge Mountains while also bringing you to the heart of the whitewater rafting, hiking and biking capital of the mountain region!Conveniently located to area manufacturers and hospital, as well as three states and three beautiful lakes for fishing and boating. Cave dwellers and rock climbers love us as well! Our small town hospitality and convenience to local restaurants and attractions will keep you coming back again and again. After a long day of work or play, unwind in our indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Standards, suites, and Jacuzzi rooms available, all with refrigerator and microwave and high-speed wireless Internet. Two full non-smoking floors. Hotel features include complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Murphy, NC and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy Hotel Murphy
Holiday Inn Murphy
Holiday Inn Express Murphy
Murphy Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing