We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”
Review of Salty Dog Gem Mine

Salty Dog Gem Mine
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Murphy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: NO ADMISSION FEE. PET FRIENDLY. You only pay for what YOU want to do. Our gem mine is located at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch. Drive out to the country for a fun day gem mining or gold panning with ore from an active gold mine for the REAL panning experience and free instruction. Our gem mine bags are customized for kids or adults, novices or rock hounds. Gems are from around the world and we have special treasure, fossil, and a variety of gem bags for every age. Have the gem mining experience here or get a bag and sifter to-go. Check our website for on-line ordering. Skeet & Pistol Ranges, Fun Park, Cabins & Camping are also on site. Our covered flume has lighting, heaters,& fans so you can gem mine rain or shine - cold or hot. Free playground & shady picnic areas. We are open from March - Thanksgiving Week. Free picnic areas. Look for WagonMaster Ranch signs.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bainbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had fun Gem Mining. My wife got very excited at finding two arrowheads. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We definitely will be back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhound63, Owner at Salty Dog Gem Mine, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you Gary for that great review. It's also nice to get such positive feedback about our staff. We appreciate your support, and hope you'll be able to come visit us again soon, Happy Trails! God Bless. Debbie Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gem Panning”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We went to do gem panning and the staff was very friendly. Jennifer helped us identify the gems we were finding. She was very knowledgeable. They also made sure you had found everything before dumping your screen. We did two bags of rough cut and came away with 2 1/2 zip lock bags of gems including 2 arrow heads! Would recommend them and return. There are a lot of things to do with kids as well - paintball, mini golf, mini-car track for little ones, bounce castle and playground. You can also camp there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhound63, Owner at Salty Dog Gem Mine, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you Deanna for taking the time to write such a nice review. It was very nice of you to compliment Jennifer personally also. She tries to make sure everyone has a great time when they come, and I appreciate your positive feedback. We hope you are able to come back to make more memories here at Salty Dog Gem Mine and WagonMaster. In the meantime, safe travels and God Bless. Debbie Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We couldn't have had a better time for the money spent.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We all had a great time gem mining, paintball shooting, putt putt golfing and riding through the woods and seeing the mountains. The guys were friendly and helpful. Our 3 kids are still talking about what they liked best. Thanks!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cbkinardjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhound63, Owner at Salty Dog Gem Mine, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
So glad ya'll had a great time here, and we appreciate you taking time out to let others know about your visit. It's always good to have positive feedback about my staff, and I appreciate that very much also. We hope you will be able to come again. In the meantime, safe travels and God Bless. Debbie Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boys loved it! ”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We took my son and nephews here for an afternoon visit. They had a blast! Lived the gem mining and the shooting galleries! Reasonable prices both on activities and "treasures"and the owner is remarkably friendly. This was our second visit, we'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhound63, Owner at Salty Dog Gem Mine, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
WOW!!! Thank you for that wonderful review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and thank you so much for such great feedback. We meet the nicest people who come to visit, and it's really easy to love our job with guests like you. Thanks again. God Bless. Debbie Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

During our week stay in Murphy with several kids we chose this place for our last afternoon. Great for an active few hour visit. Gem mining, paint ball, air gun and putt putt. Definitely would go again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank paulc3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhound63, Owner at Salty Dog Gem Mine, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for being our 1st review for our 5th season. We really enjoyed having ya'll, and I appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review., Your feedback is not only vital to our business, but it is also personally appreciated by my staff and I. Hope to see you again; God Bless. Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dog Gem Mine also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Salty Dog Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing