We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cabin review”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bear Cub Chalet

Bear Cub front with mature trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain
View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Fall view from covered porch
Living area
Bear Cub front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gak5890
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cabin review”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Greg and Paula's cabin. The cabin was exactly as described. We were happily surprised to find a welcome gift and a very well appointed kitchen when we arrived! We enjoyed exploring Murphy and hiking in the area during our stay. Coming back to a cozy fireplace at the end of the day was wonderful. Greg and Paula have excellent communication all throughout the booking process. I would recommend booking with them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Thanks for the great review!

Paula and Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Home was clean, decorated nicely and well stocked with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. The Hosts were wonderful and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was as advertised
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2016
Thanks for this great review! Come back soon.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsolberg
Huron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
Reviewed November 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at the Bear Cub Chalet for Thanksgiving weekend and visited family nearby. The owners were next door and greeted us upon arrival. Very helpful and friendly! The cabin was the best appointed cabin I have stayed in. An array of pots and pans, towels, dog crate, cooler, etc. It was also decorated beautifully in mountain style. The fenced yard and enclosed deck, as well as a screened porch were very helpful for keeping our dog and grandchildren accounted for. I highly recommend this cabin for rental.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
Thanks for this awesome review! Hope Y'all return again.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbh75
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Beary Cozy Chalet”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was our second visit to this cabin and we enjoyed the cabin even more this time! It is very clean, cozy, well stocked and in the perfect location. It is close to Murphy NC, Blairsville and Blue Ridge to name a few cities. Our dog loved the back yard that is fenced so she could run around. They even have a crate if you need to use it. Greg and Paula are close by if you need anything like aluminum foil :). They are the best hosts and we are already planning a trip back in the spring! Try it, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
We love having you guys! Can't wait until next time.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fb1005494...
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“excellent place”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very cozy, spotless and excellent place. You can find everything you need and we enjoyed the breathtaking view around especially this time of the year. We are very much looking forward to next time.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
It was nice of you to take tome to post this great review!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kweaver30
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
“AWESOME”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Bear Cub Chalet is a beautiful cabin nestled in the woods with an awesome view. It has all the amenities you need for your perfect stay, very convenient location & very peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Owners Greg & Paula are friendly wonderful hosts and make you feel at home. Also, cabin is pet friendly which is a HUGE PLUS because I take my little baby "Molly" with me wherever I go. She thoroughly enjoyed the layout of the cabin & especially the fenced portion of the yard with access to the porches so she run free without being leashed.
We had a wonderful vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of property & cabin
Liked least: Charcoal grill, would have preferred gas grill
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thanks for this awesome review! We loved hosting your party and Molly.

Paula & Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin itself plus the location and the super hosts.
Liked least: There really wasn't a least like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2016
Thanks for this awesome testimony! We strive to make our cabins your home away from home.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing