We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stopping for the night”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bear Cub Chalet

Bear Cub front with mature trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain
View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Fall view from covered porch
Living area
Bear Cub front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tbott2016
Roscoe, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Stopping for the night ”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

When we arrived to this place we were so excited! The first thing we saw was huge porch with a beautiful view! As we entered the cabin we knew we would love it! The place is very clean and well decorated. There was a welcome gift on the table that was so thoughtful! The owners have made it as comfortable as being at home. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare dinner with the groceries we picked up on our way through town. We made use of the washer and dry also. After dark we enjoyed one of the movies they had there while sitting with the fire place going. The beds were very comfortable. It was so nice to get up, have coffee, make breakfast, and eat while enjoying the view. The owners greeted us in the morning and told us about all of the interesting things we could see and do. I highly recommend stopping here and know for a fact we will be back!

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
What a fabulous review from travelers from Illinois. It was great hosting them for the night. See Y'all next time.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“relaxing stay at Bear Cub Chalet”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Bear Cub Chalet was very clean, comfortable and peaceful, and a perfect getaway for a long weekend! The owners are great hosts and provided everything that was needed for an enjoyable stay. The chalet was perfect for our dog as well, and we were delighted to be able to take him along (fenced in yard and deck!)
The area is beautiful and there is a lot to do in and around the quaint town of Murphy, N.C.
Nice restaurants with live music, and a great River Walk that circles the town. Lots of great antique shops and beautiful old churches.The Hiawasee Dam had breathtaking scenery, and we enjoyed our visit to Field of the Woods (it was particularly nice to be there on Easter Sunday).
Thank you to Paula and Greg for a wonderful home away from home!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the house, with fenced in yard and deck
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thanks Patty for taking time to post these wonderful words of endorsement.Bear Cub and Beary Cozy both have fenced yards for our 4 legged friends.Glad Y'all had a great time!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando40...
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cozy,comfy, relaxing! Our family fit perfectly at bear cub. Everything you need is there, providing an easy vacation. Wished we stayed longer, will definitely be coming back!

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Thanks for this wonderful testimony. Always glad to hear folks having a great time in the beautiful Smokys!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nailem84
Miami Gardens, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed there as mid point with our family from New Jersey, we drove al the way from Miami to have a nice, cozy and unbelievable weekend. The Cabin gives you that mountain feeling and it felt truly like a home away from home. Thank you for keeping it so neat and enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
It was great for you to be able to spend quality time with family. Our cabins are in a great location for folks up north and from Florida to meet up.Thanks Nailem for this awesome review!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila H
Gardendale, Alabama
1 review
“Wonderful Trip”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Some of the members of the extended family that were traveling with us had to be in Murphy, NC on business. I needed internet access to be able to continue working while on the trip. We also needed room to sleep four people - none of whom were "couples." Bear Cub Cabin provided all of this.

The cabin was spacious, well decorated in an appropriate theme, provided everything you could possibly need, and was very reasonably priced. We will certainly keep this cabin in mind for any future trips to the Murphy, NC area.

Thank you, Greg and Paula, for wonderful accommodations on our trip.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin provided an overall wonderful stay at a very reasonable price.
Liked least: There were no complaints at all about the cabin.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2016
What a great review! We keep all our cabins ready to be your home away from home.This cabin will sleep 8 with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed D
Washington DC, District of Columbia
3 reviews
“Wonderful time at Bear Cub Cabin!”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My friends and I enjoyed our time at Bear Cub. Greg and Paula are wonderful hosts! The cabin is exactly as advertised, and we loved their detailed guide to the cabin and the surrounding area. We had a great time cooking and socializing in the large kitchen/living area, going into town, and hiking. It was a wonderful backdrop for friends to socialize and reconnect, and we hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
Thanks Reed for this awesome review!! We hope to meet Y'all next time.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B
Douglasville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful, cozy and very relaxing.”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cabin was absolutely gorgeous on the inside. Loved the decor and the homey feel that the cabin has. It felt like home. So very cozy. There was nothing that I desired that wasn't already there. Loved sitting outside on the wrap around porch and just enjoying the peace and quietness of the area. They thought of everything that one might need. Love it!! Planning on returning very soon. Thanks for the beautiful house warming gift. So very thoughtful.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
What a wonderful review!! Thanks so much! Glad you were able to celebrate your birthday in our lovely cabin.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing