We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Times for Kids!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne

WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne
Ranked #2 of 4 Fun & Games in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: WagonMaster is an affordable, PET FRIENDLY family fun park nestled on 72 acres in the Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. It's a laid-back, wholesome atmosphere where most of the outdoor activities are designed for the WHOLE family. It promotes a no-tech, rustic, theme for couples or families to make special memories. There's mini golf, gem mining, gold panning, skeet shooting, wagon rides, and target galleries for paintball. No one gets shot at - you shoot at ghost town targets. "Just for kids" includes the bounce castle (with sprinkler on hot days), mini race track, and a free playground. There's NO ADMISSION FEE. There's shady picnic areas, camping, RV sites,and cabins on site. We also do online and "to go" orders for our Salty Dog Gem Mine and Gold Panning. It's out in the country, but it's worth the beautiful drive to get there.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun Times for Kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stopped in midweek, mainly for the gem mining. Our 7 yr old son saw the advertisement at the Welcome Center and really wanted to try it out. We were the only guests there upon arrival and our son got his pick of activities with no waiting. We opted for a package that included paintballs, bbs, mini golf and gem mining and he LOVED them all! The staff couldnt have been any nicer and accomodating and the place was well taken care of and designed for fun. It's rustic and in the middle of nowhere but children of all ages will find something that interests them there. The prices were more than fair and we will defintely be back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BBoyles2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks SO much for writing the great review for our adventure park (and our gem mine). We know we are blessed in having the greatest customers in the world LIKE YOU, and it makes our "job" a real pleasure. We hope to see you again the next time you are over our way. Safe travels and God Bless! Jim & Deb Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    10
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagrange, NC,USA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great family time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had two of our grandchildren and a 12 week old puppy with us on this trip. We had asked for a ok for the pup when we made our plans to visit the ranch. We stayed for 3 nights and had a great trip. We were unable to take the kids to dry falls because of work being done on walkway but we visited Fields in the Woods and also the road to nowhere. Both of these were lessons spiritually and historical. But the greastest family time was campfire talk , walking in the paths and oh yes my 69 year old husband loved the paintball and shooting the guns at objects. Cabin was just right for us with the kids in the loft. Very clean and everything one needs was right in place for the cooking and comfortable living for the few days we were there in may. The owners could not have been any more helpful in order for us to have a relaxing family time. the suttons

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you SO much for taking the time to say such kind words about your stay here. We truly enjoyed meeting ya'll, and your grandchildren were SO well mannered. It's really nice to witness such positive family times. We hope you are all blessed with many more great memories together. Thank you again, Deb & Jim Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent as a Destination or Hub for Regional Activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

While on a fun and learning family RV tour with our 6 and 8 year olds, we stopped in to WagonMaster for a night just to get the lay of the land. We knew we were in an area filled with local color and several key activities, (river rafting tours on multiple local rivers, canopy (zip) tours, horseback riding, Cherokee IR, Smokies, etc.), but did not know where to start or where best to stay. We could not have been more fortunate. Deb and Jim have created a friendly homestyle camp which had first rate RV accommodations for our RV (we have a 40 foot diesel pusher), private cabins, a gathering place for family games or group cooking, night golf, gem mining (Deb loads the BEST gem bags I have seen FULL of goodies for the kids), BB gun range, paint ball, kids car track, wagon rides, hiking, etc. activity cabin and a wide range of excellent low cost activities. Rain or shine, whether we wanted to venture out or stay close, there was always something within easy reach for us during our stay at WagonMaster. Deb is more than happy to help you find any sort of fun you are looking for in the area and knows who the best operators and tour guides are. She voluntarily took the bull by the horns and called a dozen guide companies to see who could take our whole family on an age appropriate rafting tour. WOW! She knew the best place for a kid friendly horeseback riding tour. Very cool! Plug the kids into a "jumpie" activity complete with sprinklers and a monitor, or miniature golf, etc. while you relax and observe from the the front porch of the RV Activity Center (common area cabin) perched high on an overlooking hill. Rain or shine this is a great place to call home while in the Ocoee River basin. Needless to say, our quick drop in stay "to get the lay of the land turned into a multi night plan. Thanks for taking care of us guys!
One point - be sure to follow the map instructions on the WagonMaster website. We took a wrong GPS guided turn and ended up coming in 5 miles on a one lane dirt road in our RV! (but we made it without a scratch so all was well)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1BVISailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
WOW! Thank you, Bart, for that wonderful review! We've always thought we had the best guests ever, and you just proved it once again! We loved your positive outlook and teamwork in all that you and Tiffany did... it's really nice to see happy couples enjoying life and family together. I'm so glad ya'll had a good time, and we hope the rest of your adventure is filled with great memories for you and the girls. Thanks again for taking the time to share such kind words! Safe travels and God Bless! Jim & Deb Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun even for adults!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

The cabins were wonderful and the campsite great! There was a deck with picnic table overlooking a nice wooded area and down to the drive. There was plenty of privacy and opportunity to visit with others too! The shower and bath facilities - I have never seen better! Thanks Debbi and Jim!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thanks so much for that very kind review. You were our 1st RV guests and we have really enjoyed having you return to visit us again each time. With every visit, you can pick out different sights to check out in the area or just kick back and enjoy the scenery right here, and ya'll know how to enjoy every trip regardless of the weather. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feelings about your visit, and we love you guys!!! We look forward to your next visit whenever you plan on coming back this way. Debbie Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for All!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We have been out to Wagonmaster on many occasions. It is fun for a spectrum of ages and so affordable. We are from the Orlando area and most "parks" are expensive. So when our 7 yr. old grandaughter came up to NC, we took her to WM. She had a ball!!! The only little problem was that she wanted to go back again and again which time didn't provide. There is always next summer! Thanks for adding to her vacation!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Just realized we had gone to visit grandchildren when this wonderful review was posted and did not write a response. So - better late than never, THANK you Sarah S for taking time out of a VERY busy schedule to share your kind words. We love seeing your Grandkids when you are all up here, and appreciate you so much. Sorry for the delay in officially responding, but I hope you know how much we love you guys! God Bless your beautiful family. Jim & Deb Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to WagonMaster Adventure Ranch Fun Park & Gem MIne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing