We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Gross!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Walter's Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Walter's Grill
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Murfreesboro
Price range: $6 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant is the longest running business in Murfreesboro. We have been open since 1943. We are famous for our hot dog chili and our real hamburgers! W make our own chicken salad, potata salad, and cole slaw! We serve homestyle southern cooking! You will find lots of locals and lots of history here. We hope you will come on in and give us a try! we look forward to seeing y'all!
Murfreesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Gross!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I took my kids there because we love sandwich type places. First of all, The place is filthy! The tables were grimy, the menus had ketchup on them and the utensils were dirty. We didn't say anything about the forks because we ordered "finger foods" . I ordered a Turkey club. ANY restuarant that I've eaten at always puts mayo on the club or leave it plain and gives you the mayo to put it on. This sandwich had some disgusting chunky, pickled junk that was just nasty. They should note that they use something other than mayo .My kids both ordered chili dogs with fries. The fries were over cooked and saturated with grease. The chili was geasy and nasty. They both ate 1 bite of each and we left.Even they thought the food was disgusting, and they're kids! I will NEVER set foot in there again! These people who say that it's great do not know what good food is and must not venture out of this po-dunk town! Just nasty! I should have known by the cleanliness that I should have never even ordered food but I thought I'd give it a try. NEVER AGAIN!
"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donna w, Manager at Walter's Grill, responded to this review, May 10, 2016
Dear Donna, I do appreciate you taking the time to review. I wish you would have let you server know your utensils were dirty, we gladly we would have replaced them. I apologized no one explained we also put our homemade chicken salad on our club as well as the traditional ingredients. Perhaps if you are around again you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Be sure to try the chicken and rice soup. It is a seasonal favorite. If

Helpful?
1 Thank Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Nc
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great small town Diner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife and I dined here today and really enjoyed it! My wife ordered their Club Sandwich and Onion Rings. I sampled the Club and it was one of the best Club sandwiches I have ever had. My wife liked the onion rings also. I ordered a regular Hot Dog and a cup of Chicken and Rice soup. My Hot Dog was one of the best I have tasted. The owner made us feel welcomed and was very helpful in our selection of food. We will return again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trueeasterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Local Flavor at Walter's Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Local joints are what we like to find and Walter's Grill fits that bill. It is "down home" eastern NC home cooking. Our party all ordered many different items from meatloaf to country ham and enjoyed our meal. The service was fine and the decor was hometown diner style.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeeNC070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“The BEST bbq and chicken...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

The BEST bbq and chicken salad ever!!!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter's Grill also viewed

 
Murfreesboro, NC
 

Been to Walter's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing