We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly!”
Review of Mayberry Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayberry Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We didn't stay here, however, we stopped by to see the squad car and Emmett's truck. While we were taking pictures, the clerk came out and told stories about Andy and the show. She even took pictures of us at the cars and the gazebo. After taking pictures and realizing that we enjoyed the Andy Griffith Show, she took us into the Aunt Bea room to see the memorabilia. That was a neat experience. It was a neat way to finish our Mt. Airy visit as we headed home.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 86MissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    56
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
77
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It just didn't seem right to stay in a modern hotel on our visit to Mayberry so we chose the Mayberry Motor Inn. Just the name takes you back to the 60's! We found it very easily and was greeted with the site of the Mayberry Squad car and Emmet's truck parked right outside the office. I can't say much either way about the people working in the office, took my charge and handed me my key. They didn't offer any suggestions or even tell me about the coffee in the office, I wouldn't have known that if I hadn't read it on another review.
The location is about a mile or two from Main St but it's a quick drive. The motel is well maintained and there are a few rooms with King sized beds which we were lucky to get. The grounds were very nicely decorated for fall.
All in all it was a very decent and reasonable place to stay. Definitely no frills!

Room Tip: Request a king sized bed or else you will get 2 full size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asullivan4261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Absolutely loved the Mayberry Motor Inn. The room was extremely clean, beds were comfortable, and the overall appearance of the Inn was great. We will will definitely stay at the Mayberry Motor Inn whenevr in the area. So glad there are still places like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the motor lodge, loved seeing Barney's squad car and Emmits truck in the parking lot. Rooms could use some updating and found some bugs in the room, killed them myself. Overall pretty good stay..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsnichols34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Springs, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

been twice with family this year returning in Oct. to celebrate 30 yrs of being with best friend and husband we started dating 30 yrs ago and married 7 months later, Mom and Dad came with us a few years till they went to Heaven and now we are bringing our grandchildren, love the clean,friendly affordable family atmosphere and love the gazebo wonderful place to meditate on the Lord and meet new folks, or share a sandwich with a grandson, lol

Room Tip: kids are small needed little to make them happy they loved just running around exploring, and we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeNeal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful grounds, very clean rooms and friendly staff. We make it a point to say here every time we visit Mt Airy. Easy access on and off of the Andy Griffith Parkway. A refreshing step back into time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for a motorcycle event; they hotel "next door" was also booked for this event. We really liked staying at the Mayberry Inn. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable and the best pillows ever. Fridge and microwave in each room, but no coffee pot. They do have coffee in the office and a few "light" things for breakfast, muffins, fruit, etc. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again whether for the motorcycle event or just for our pleasure. Local restaurants to choose from and the downtown area is probably less than 10 miles away.
There is also a room dedicated to Aunt Bee. . .now whats not fun about that, Mayberry and Aunt Bee.

Room Tip: Our friends had a corner room and the living space was "big"; ours' was next door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teslatech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
597 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
12.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayberry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayberry Motor Inn

Property: Mayberry Motor Inn
Address: 501 N Andy Griffith Pkwy, Mount Airy, NC 27030-2522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Mayberry Motor Hotel Mount Airy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing