We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Relaxing Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We quickly decided to extend our stay after arriving at Sobotta Manor.
We were pleased to find so much to do in the area thanks to the recommendations of Robin and Junior. Biking along the New River Trail was beautiful. We also enjoyed visiting local antique shops and the abundance of vineyards in the area. The breakfasts were top notch and the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AVLTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
391
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Fantastic Home and the Hospitality was #1! My compliments to JR and Robin!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nbklu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I was so impressed with the whole experience. The rooms were all very large and spacious. The beds were the most comfortable beds I had ever slept on. I did not want to leave. It was a very warm and comfortable place to stay and relax.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Parking on the street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Sobotta Manor is a beautiful B&B! Robin and Junior were excellent hosts and I enjoyed the storytelling about the original home owners as well as the tidbits about Mt. Airy.
Being a dog-lover, I especially enjoyed Clayton and Cher!

In addition to Mt. Airy and the sights of Mayberry, the Blue Ridge Parkway is only miles away. Be sure to head up to Pilot Mountain (Mt. Pilot) and drive to the summit. The view over NC is beautiful and there are wonderful hiking trails as well!

  • Liked — Feather topped bed and lovely breakfasts were awesome
  • Disliked — Very small bathroom (clawfoot tub) - would be better to have only a shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martyspumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2008

My wife is 65 and had never experienced staying at a bed and breakfast. The Sobotta Manor was an excellent choice. Robin provided 3 course gourmet breakfasts for us each morning - we stayed three days - that were an exciting experience in themselves. We got excellent briefs on local activities each day. The grounds and gardens are exquizite. Robin and Junior really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank welli85561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Clean, friendly, well appointed Bed and Breakfast that is conveniently located to all downtown attractions. The Innkeepers seemed committed to providing an excellent night's sleep to their guests. The mattress was top-of-the-line, and was the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. Breakfast was the best I ever had.

  • Liked — The home and scenery
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gcigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

You expect a beautiful house and cheerful hosts. You certainly get this at the Sobotta Manor, plus a lot more. Their breakfasts are way better than anything we've ever had at other places. Robin is full of interesting stories, but neither host is obtrusive or annoying. Their two small dogs are a real treat and very cute. They will stay away if you are not a dog person, and they are extremely quiet and well socialized.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrass011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
563 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
176 reviews
15.1 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing