We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked the B&B on a last minute getaway and it was just wonderful. We had room 4 and it was spacious, comfortable bed and close to downtown Mayberry. Innkeepers were friendly and engaging and their dogs Sonny and Cher were very friendly.
Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms were roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joefirm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We enjoyed the chance to meet you as did the pups! We hope if you get a minute away again, you will head our way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 581 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay a few days over Veteran’s Day Weekend. Our stay was absolutely wonderful and Robin and Junior could not have been more gracious hosts. From the moment that we walked in the door, they made us feel welcome and did whatever they could to ensure that we had a great stay. The Manor is a beautiful, historic Tudor a couple of blocks from downtown “Mayberry.” We stayed in Room Three. It was a nice sized room that was well decorated and comfortable. A number of other reviewers have mentioned that Robin prepares an excellent table. Our impression was no different. The breakfasts were always an interesting mix of things that I would not normally associate or consider at home, but she made me a convert! In addition to being a wonderful host, Robin had lots of great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. We could not have asked for better stay. Sabotta Manor is definitely a B&B that my wife and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakratbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

B&B for Vets, where thousands of B&B's across the US and Canada offer free lodging and other promotions to show our appreciation to those who have given so much for us, our country and our freedom. It is the most wonderful thing we have had the pleasure of doing for the past few years and Bob we are thankful with all the choices in B&B's that you chose ours. You are an amazing person, we are grateful to you and your family for your service to this country. May God continue to bless you and all the others who do so much to ensure our freedom each and every day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Can not say enough wonderful things about Robin and Junior. The manor is beautifully kept and it shows a lot of love. Robin's breakfasts make you want to stay for a month. Rooms are beautifully furnished but it is the people who really put this over the top. I would recommend Sobotta Manor to anyone who is traveling in North Carolina.

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful. Even though it is on the main street it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Judi, It was so nice to meet you and share such great conversation's and wine! I hope that when you return to Mount Airy that we see you! Stay warm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I had been traveling south from Maine for the previous two days, and we were delighted to arrive at Sobota Manor after our long journey.

Sobotta Manor was beautifully decorated for Christmas, warm & comfortable. The hosts were utterly charming and even our two Jack Russell's, Xabbo & Chloe were warmly welcomed & made to feel right at home.

We wholeheartedly recommend a stay over for a night or two on your journey south for the winter, or even longer to explore the very quaint town of Mount Airy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Leon, We so enjoyed meeting you both and hope you are loving your time in South Carolina. What is not to love about Xabbo & Chloe, they are so sweet. I hope we will see you when you travel back to Maine when the ice melts. Eat some shrimp for me!
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We felt like welcomed guests! Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Slept like a rock. The house is in excellent condition and kept very clean. Breakfast lived up to its gourmet billing. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful. We were in #4, and it was large, quiet, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Susan, It was so nice to meet you and thanks for taking time to write a review for us. If you get a few days off, hop up to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs and the breakfast at Sobotta was one of the best we've had. The food was delicious and the presentation was exceptional. Our room was very comfortable, and we slept wonderfully. The owners made us feel very welcome and gave us suggestions of places to visit in Mt. Airy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Bob, as you can see, I love to talk and I love to cook and I hope when you need a quick escape again, you will come back to see us. Thank for taking time to review for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Sobotta Manor is wonderful! When you first enter, there is a feeling of warmth and hospitality. The house was beautifully decorated for the fall. Robin, the owner, made us fell so welcome and by the end of our short stay we felt as though we had made a new friend. The breakfast was gourmet and was beautifully presented. Robin allowed us to bring our two cats and it was a special treat for them. Everything about the Sobotta was special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJKonLBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We hope we will see you when you head home in the spring. Your cats are beautiful and are most welcome anytime. I hope your time in Florida is full of sunshine and laughter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Airy hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
795 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Mt Airy-Mayberry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range: $139 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing