We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
1 review
“Great B&B”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Clean, friendly, well appointed Bed and Breakfast that is conveniently located to all downtown attractions. The Innkeepers seemed committed to providing an excellent night's sleep to their guests. The mattress was top-of-the-line, and was the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. Breakfast was the best I ever had.

  • Liked — The home and scenery
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gcigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
396
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

You expect a beautiful house and cheerful hosts. You certainly get this at the Sobotta Manor, plus a lot more. Their breakfasts are way better than anything we've ever had at other places. Robin is full of interesting stories, but neither host is obtrusive or annoying. Their two small dogs are a real treat and very cute. They will stay away if you are not a dog person, and they are extremely quiet and well socialized.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrass011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick county
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I stayed here for a birthday party with "the girls"! We had a blast and loved the touch with the cake on a plate with little crystals hanging down. Can't wait to go back!!
sw
Stuart, Va

  • Liked — It was wonderful, all details attended to.
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank srwillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I was just staying in town for one night and after checking in, I wished I could have stayed for more! The Sobotta Manor B & B was such a delight, starting with being greeted by Robin's big smile as she came out to meet me. It was so easy to find and near the heart of this small, quaint town. After I got settled she offered me a glass of wine, which was perfect after a long drive.

I stayed in the room downstairs and it was everything I needed - a big, comfortable bed, plenty of room, great bathroom and shower, easy wireless internt, plus a big TV if I wanted it. And quiet, so quiet! I really slept well. The next morning Robin's breakfast blew me away. Wow, can she cook! It was not only delicious, she made me feel special. I can't imagine a better place to stay if you're near Mt. Airy. In fact, I coined the phrase "When in Mt. Airy, you gotta stay at the Sobotta!"

  • Liked — Like a 4 star hotel, but cozy
  • Disliked — Didn't get to spend enough time there
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BodaciousMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

This lovely home and its owners are a standout in the world of B&Bs. We chanced on them while driving through NC on a trip up the East Coast and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The owners have lovingly and skillfully restored the house and grounds and are active in the local restoration and historic preservation community. Robin greeted us at the door and immediately made us feel welcome, pointing out the many guest amenities and offering suggestions for dining that evening (which we took and loved!) Our room was large and beautifully appointed, though it did have only a tub (no shower). And breakfast was nothing less than sublime--homemade cream-cheese-stuffed French toast with fresh berry compote! Also, though it wasn't available for our drop-in stay this time, Robin told us there was a pet-friendly room which we will definitely check out on our next stay.

  • Liked — Amenities and service
  • Disliked — Our bathroom had only a tub, no shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Savannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

The one week stay at Sobotta Manor was perfect. Comments include - the best bed, the best pillows, the most perfect grounds, and perfect service and hosts. Mount Airy is our favorite and we loved Sobotta Manor!

Missoula Children's Theatre was hired for a one week residency in Mount Airy by the Surry Arts Council/Andy Griffith Playhouse. Sobotta Manor is only a couple of blocks away from the Andy Griffith Playhouse and downtown Mount Airy. The location is also "the best"! for us and we are so appreciative of such incredible accomodations!!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank SurryArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We had a very satisfying stay here for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were outstanding! Robin and Junior were very attentive to our needs and very entertaining. The garden is absolutely beautiful and very peaceful.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank james5467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing