We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JEWEL IN THE MOUNTAINS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Concord
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“JEWEL IN THE MOUNTAINS”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We took a trip through the beautiful mountains to visit Sobotta Manor B&B in Mt. Airy, NC. Robin, the owner and hostess greeted us upon arrival at this beautiful stately home and she made us feel like we were old friends. The manor house and the grounds are impeccably maintained and quite impressive. Our guestroom was immaculate and very comfortable. The king sized bed was outfitted with luxurious linens and bed pillows. Breakfast was served in the formal dining room and was delicious. The Manor is just a short walk to downtown Mt Airy where we found quaint shops and many local restaurants and diners. This destination warrants another visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
It was so wonderful to meet you and we thank you so much for your sweet review! I hope that you will have a chance to come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
389
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Sobatto Manor is great. My wife and I stayed for our anniversary and really enjoyed it. The rooms and grounds are extremely nice. Breakfast was great and the hosts make you feel right at home. We walked to downtown which is very neat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We always stay in B & B's when we travel and this was THE best one we have been in. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable, and the rooms have beautiful furniture and bedding. Robin did a beautiful job of making her home comfy and cozy and she decorated for the fall in every inch of the house so it was so nice to be away from Florida and feel like were were in a Fall setting. The breakfast was wonderful. Robin's hospitality was so welcoming and she showed us around the house and let us tour the kitchen and her beautiful new oven. We had great conversation. We walked to downtown in 2 minutes. If we are ever in Mt. airy again we will definitely stay at Sobotta Manor and highly recommend.
Steve & Vicky Gale
Davie, FL

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Steve and Vicky, Thank you for taking time to review our B&B, and I hope if you are passing by again, you will stop and see us. Maybe we will see you sometime in the sunshine state!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

One of the best! A definite “10!” After staying too long in Asheville, we called the proprietor of the Sobotta to explain that it would be after 8:00 PM before we would arrive. She was extremely accommodating and, upon our arrival, gave us a friendly tour of the house, offering fresh homemade peanut butter cookies, self-serve coffee, and then turned down our bed.

The manor has unusual architectural features, with elegant wood trim, and lovely décor. Our bedroom had a wonderful fireplace and was beautifully furnished with a four-poster bed, armoire, and other lovely pieces. We had a huge bathroom, bathrobes, and many other special touches.

In the morning, we shared coffee in the parlor with other friendly, interesting guests. Breakfast in the formal dining room with beautiful china and silver was a gourmet delight—frittata, poached pear with caramel sauce, and cream-filled pumpkin roll. We stayed after the other guests left and talked to Robin, the innkeeper, for over an hour. She told us fascinating stories about her travels, the history of the house, the work involved in the restoration, and about the other historical houses in the neighborhood. Be sure to take a walk in the neighborhood. All the homes on this street are eclectic and unique.

For a perfect day, have dinner at the Harvest Grille restaurant at the Shelton Vineyards, buy a bottle of wine and bring it back to enjoy on the side porch of the Sobotta Manor. After breakfast, grab a cup of coffee and stroll through the gardens of the manor. We have stayed in B&B’s from Virginia to California and the Sobotta is definitely a FIVE STAR rating!

Room Tip: We stayed ing the Burgundy room on the upstairs corner. Road noise was not an issue. Any room woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Ashley, Thank you for you wonderful review! You guys were so much fun and I enjoyed our conversation so much. I am getting ready to set out on my yearly travels so I will have some new stories. Come back and see me and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Robin made out trip to Mt. airy very special. Her recommendations for vineyards, antique shops and restaurants were perfect. The Sobotta Manor is beautiful with a wonderful history and should not be missed. Robin's hospitality and wonderful breakfasts really have set the standard for all others to follow. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of our highlights to this amazing town was the opportunity to stay at this great B&B. Robin is a gourmet cook and our breakfast was an experience often only enjoyed at a five star restaurant. JR and Robin's home was decorated beautifully for the Fall season, the bedrooms are all large and luxurious with ensuite bathrooms. The one acre property in town allowed us to enjoy a relaxing afternoon in the shade of the century old trees. My husband and I appreciated how welcoming and accommodating they were. Definitely the Taj Mahal of B&B's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Sobotta previously...it was excellent then...it was even better this time...if that is possible! Robyn, JR, Clayton and Cher were great hosts...our room was very comfortable, quiet and well appointed. Breakfast the next morning was to die for.
This stop was a wonderful beginning to our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesM8057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireGirl, Owner at Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
James,
Clayton and Cher are always so glad to see their name mentioned and I'm sure will now be asking for additional treats! I thank you for your repeated business and remember, the third time is the charm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing