We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good first stop in Mount Airy”

Wally's Service Station
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good first stop in Mount Airy”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wally's is a good place to begin your tour of Mount Airy. Taking a Squad Car Tour will show you around the town and get you acquainted with the sights and layout of the town. This was our first trip to Mount Airy, so we were unfamiliar with the way the town was set up and where all the attractions were. The downtown area is small and the main streets are one-ways. Taking the Squad Car Tour helped me get familiar with what I wanted to see and where I wanted to go as well as where I could park.

Our driver was Jonathan, and he was very informative. The ride is $35 a carload, no matter how many are in the car. Our first stop was the largest open faced granite quarry in the world. Although not of Mayberry significance, it was a neat stop seeing a working quarry. The place is gigantic. Jonathan activated the old siren leaving and coming back into town which we loved.

We then saw places that included a home Andy Griffith lived in, the Andy Griffith Museum, the Snappy Lunch, Floyd's Barber Shop, the Bluebird Cafe, and sights where Andy hung out. All through the drive Jonathan gave us droves of facts about Andy Griffith and Mount Airy's connection to Mayberry. He is a wealth of knowledge.

We loved the gorgeous 1964 Ford Galaxy 500 car we rode in. I forgot what legroom really was until we took our ride. They don't build them like they used to. And the old seat belts without the shoulder straps, what a memory. Each of the cars used is personally serviced by the owner, and he obviously takes great pride in his cars.

We enjoyed our tour and recommend Wally's as a good beginning point for your stay in Mount Airy. The Squad Car Tour takes about 35 minutes and will provide you with the locations of attractions and a layout of the town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Topspeedunknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    48
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wallys”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Love going in there and looking at the photos. Getting some candy and sodas and just hanging out reading and looking at all the neat things.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jmayapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Andy's hometown”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The squad tour was very interesting and informative. We had a great tour guide and he gave us a lot of information we would not have known had we toured Mt. airy on our own. It was well worth the $35 for my husband and I. Make sure you tour the filling station museum also. It had the jail set up just like the show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clever, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not real impressed....”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It depends on how many people you have in the car as to how good of a deal it is. If you have a full carload (5) and it works out to only 7 bucks apiece it's a good deal, but if you only have 2, like we did it is not worth it. The things they take you to see can be seen on your own with a map from the visitors center.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank virtualwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it was ok”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stopped off in Mt Airy on our way home from Myrtle Beach. First stop was Andy Griffith Museum. Very small, but nice, loved looking over all the pictures/posters on the wall, Barney and Otis suits and other items from the show. Everyone was so kind. Betty Lynn/Thelma Lou was there signing autographs and she is just a doll. Talked to everyone as if she was their best friend. Our next thing we did was the Squad Car Tours, sorry to say we wasted $35! Our guide was terrible! He hardly talked and acted as if he could care less that he was giving the tour. We heard the other guide, that also gave Squad Car Tours, was full of information. Still not going to let that one thing ruin our trip. We ate a wonderful hamburger at Barneys Diner and then shopped through all the cute little shops. I think if you are an Andy Griffith show fan it's a place to stop and enjoy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hartnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wally's Service Station also viewed

 

Been to Wally's Service Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing