We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was ok”

Wally's Service Station
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stopped off in Mt Airy on our way home from Myrtle Beach. First stop was Andy Griffith Museum. Very small, but nice, loved looking over all the pictures/posters on the wall, Barney and Otis suits and other items from the show. Everyone was so kind. Betty Lynn/Thelma Lou was there signing autographs and she is just a doll. Talked to everyone as if she was their best friend. Our next thing we did was the Squad Car Tours, sorry to say we wasted $35! Our guide was terrible! He hardly talked and acted as if he could care less that he was giving the tour. We heard the other guide, that also gave Squad Car Tours, was full of information. Still not going to let that one thing ruin our trip. We ate a wonderful hamburger at Barneys Diner and then shopped through all the cute little shops. I think if you are an Andy Griffith show fan it's a place to stop and enjoy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hartnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    48
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White House, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise for Fans of Andy Griffith”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I decided to surprise my wife (big fan of the "Andy Griffith Show") on the way to Mountain Lake Hotel in Virginia by stopping at Andy Griffith's hometown of Mount Airy, NC for a few hours. Our first stop after the Visitor's Center was the Squad Car Tours. We road in a replica of the squad car from Mayberry. Our driver, Don, was very informative and funny (Citizen's Arrest! Citizen's Arrest!). He drove us around town, telling us about the history, showing us the main landmarks, and providing interesting insights into the life of Andy Griffith. The tour was about 30 minutes and well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennessee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice stop on our way to the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stopped in Mount Airy on our way to the beach to get out of the car and stretch our legs for a while. We booked two of the sqaud cars for a tour around town and really enjoyed it. We went to see the grantie quarry, Andy Griffith's childhood home, visitors center and other interesting sights. You can spend some time in Otis's jail cell on the property as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Conwayluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must do but somewhat disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

It was $35 for a car load to ride in the 1954 squad car. DC was our driver who was very nice and knowledgeable. He said he and his brothers ran around with Andy but he also said he was only 66 years old so the math doesn't quite add up for him but maybe it does for his brothers. He drove us to the granite quarry and showed us some buildings where granite from the quarry was used. He drove us be the museum and shops and also Andy's house when he lived there (you can rent it as a room through the Hampton Inn). He blew the siren a couple of times which was kind of neat. The tour takes about 35 minutes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Drillmstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Squad Car Tour time well spent in Mt Airy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our guide Jonathan was great! The photo op with the car and at Wally's Station and the Mayberry Courthouse was just perfect and all for $35.00. Small town prices I guess!

We had a great time on the tour and hanging out at Wally's drinking a NEHI!

Great afternoon fun in this really cool little town!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davehicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wally's Service Station also viewed

 

Been to Wally's Service Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing