We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop for information”

The Mount Airy Visitors Center
Ranked #4 of 32 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mount Airy Visitors Center is now located in The Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce Building at 200 N. Main Street, Mount Airy NC 27030. Please stop by the Mount Airy Visitors Center as we are open 7 Days a week Monday-Friday 8:30am-6pm (May-November) and until 5pm (December-April), Saturday 10am-4pm and Sunday 12noon-4pm. We can assist with planning your trip while visiting Mount Airy "Mayberry" North Carolina. The Andy Griffith Museum is also open 7 Days week and just few blocks from the Visitors Center.
Grand Blanc MI
Level Contributor
317 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A must stop for information”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped by here and viewed maps and were able to use the restroom. All the information you need about town is here, and deals of a combo museum/radio visit. The staff was very friendly and made all of us feel welcome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    56
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is a great place for anyone.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Going through the streets of Mt Airy Saturday, June 21st was wonderful. There was a car show while we were there this time. Loved the loud, wonderful oldies, old cars, great people, even better shopping! Love this place!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KAREN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This should be first stop in Mount Airy”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

WE loved this town so much last year that we just got back going again!!! First stop is the Visitor's Center manned by local folk. They are so helpful and will give you a wealth of information and a map of the local sites to see. Including in this list is Andy Griffith's boyhood home, Andy's Museum, Mayberry Statue, Floyd's Barber Shop...and the real Floyd is there!!!! Also Blue Bird Cafe, Wally's Service Station, Snappy Lunch..be sure to eat the famous fired Pork Chop sandwich.Also near this town is Pilot Mountain which Andy called Mt. Pilot. This town is such a breath of fresh air. Sweet simple folks and half the fun is talking to the people from Mayberry and them discussing back in the day when Andy Griffth roamed these same streets. Cried when I had to leave!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Go here to get a map of the town. We had a little trouble finding it, but it is right on the downtown mainstreet. Very friendly staff and clean restrooms.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
934 reviews
423 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
“The staff makes it exceptional!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've been to too many visitor centers where staff are either less than enthusiastic or act like you are just one more interaction to get through. Not so in Mt. Airy! The women I have dealt with here are incredibly enthusiastic and helpful. They are very proud of Mt. Airy and want to assure that everyone gets the most out of any visit. The brochures/materials for area attractions, accommodations and dining are plentiful and well laid-out, but it's the staff! They have told me about things in Mt. Airy I never would have known about otherwise, and they almost had me ready to move there!
Make sure you stop here when you first get to town!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Airy Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to The Mount Airy Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing