We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Help.”

The Mount Airy Visitors Center
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mount Airy Visitors Center is now located in The Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce Building at 200 N. Main Street, Mount Airy NC 27030. Please stop by the Mount Airy Visitors Center as we are open 7 Days a week Monday-Friday 8:30am-6pm (May-November) and until 5pm (December-April), Saturday 10am-4pm and Sunday 12noon-4pm. We can assist with planning your trip while visiting Mount Airy "Mayberry" North Carolina. The Andy Griffith Museum is also open 7 Days week and just few blocks from the Visitors Center.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Help.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our advisor at the visitors center was wonderful. She was interested in where we were from and talked about the Mt. Airy area and what was going on while we were there. She encouraged us to stay in Mt. Airy overnight to attend activities that were happening in the evening hours. She answered all of our questions and was a pleasure to visit with.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahLuke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    56
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
412 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“If you like "The Andy Griffith Show"...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you like the old "The Andy Griffith Show", you'll LOVE Mount Airy, NC... and the best place to start while on a visit is The Mount Airy Visitors Center.

The place is quaint and full of artifacts, visuals, maps, and info about both Andy Griffith the man (Andy Taylor, Ben Matlock, etc.) and his tremendous TV / movie career (particularly The Andy Griffith Show).

This little North Carolina town - in the foothills leading up to the Blue Ridge Parkway / Blue Ridge Mountains - was Andy's boyhood home... and the source of a lot of "backstory" info and ideas for his legenday TV show. There really is a "Snappy Lunch" and a "Floyd's Barber Shop". Snappy Lunch really does feature a "pork chop sandwich" that is an amazing morsel of food.

The little town has a vibrant and friendly downtown --- and Main Street is full of quaint shops. Time just drifts back 40 - 50 years ago as one leisurely visits (take your time, no need to rush)... and again, it all starts with a visit to the Mount Airy Visitors Center.

In closing, not only are they experts on all things "Andy", but they can also tell you about other Mount Airy treasures - like the huge local granite quarry and another local-made-good: Donna Fargo.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good info, map, pamphlets”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

'twas the week before Andy Griffith passed; his 'Mayberry' legacy was everywhere and our five families enjoyed the downtown and food and all of the Mt. Airy (uhh, Mayberry) stores, shops and restaurants.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable staff - great map”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is THE place in Mt Airy to get the lay of the land. They know their stuff and have great maps. Like everything else in town, though, it wasn't quite what we expected. The experience just didn't quite live up to the hype. Floyd's barbershop is just a working barbershop with a picture of Barney on the wall. The downtown is lovely, but the shops are just tourist shops like you find in any touristy town. Aunt Bea's is a fast food chain. We weren't there in time to catch the museum, so maybe that would have made it seem more like a Mayberry experience. Very lovely town, but a few pics of the cast don't go far, and the townspeople seem to have burnt out on the concept.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank HoosierGal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Day trip”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Everyone in the office was very friendly and pointed us in the right direction on the various attractions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Airy Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to The Mount Airy Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing