We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayberry R Us”

The Mount Airy Visitors Center
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mount Airy Visitors Center is now located in The Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce Building at 200 N. Main Street, Mount Airy NC 27030. Please stop by the Mount Airy Visitors Center as we are open 7 Days a week Monday-Friday 8:30am-6pm (May-November) and until 5pm (December-April), Saturday 10am-4pm and Sunday 12noon-4pm. We can assist with planning your trip while visiting Mount Airy "Mayberry" North Carolina. The Andy Griffith Museum is also open 7 Days week and just few blocks from the Visitors Center.
Mount Airy, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mayberry R Us”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

If you're a fan of the Andy Griffith show. Its all here. The residents don't call it Mayberry, but we're nice to you when you do :-) Come to Floyds and the Snappy Lunch. See the old jail and other landmarks. Take a squad car tour.

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    58
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not everybody is there for Mayberry”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Visitors Center should consider that not all travelers to their town are there because of Andy Griffith and Mayberry. We just like exploring and visiting small towns. But they were very helpful.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MDinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayberryTourism, Manager at The Mount Airy Visitors Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your email. I will make sure that I work with our Visitor Information Specialists to go over all there is to see and do in Mount Airy along with our Mayberry Attractions. I appreciate your review and we appreciate your comments to improve the efforts with our staff at the Mount Airy Visitors Center. Thank you again. Director of Tourism
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All The Info You Need!”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We found the Visitor's Center full of all kinds of information, lots of brochures, and maps of the town of Mt. Airy that turned out to be very helpful. The gentleman who was working when we went inside was very friendly and informative.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Doonesbury19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great tip on a restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My sister and I didn't know where to eat. We walked into the visitors' center and asked the lady at the desk (Friday evening, September 16 @ about 6 p.m.). I asked for something moderately priced, but not a diner type place. Right away she went to the kiosk and pulled out a post card for The Depot at Cody Creek.

We followed her excellent directions and had a great meal there.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chaz343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must stop”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The visitor center is well versed in sites in the entire area. Their friendly staff will make your stay most more enjoyable.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank wizofwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Airy Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to The Mount Airy Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing