We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tip on a restaurant”

The Mount Airy Visitors Center
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mount Airy Visitors Center is now located in The Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce Building at 200 N. Main Street, Mount Airy NC 27030. Please stop by the Mount Airy Visitors Center as we are open 7 Days a week Monday-Friday 8:30am-6pm (May-November) and until 5pm (December-April), Saturday 10am-4pm and Sunday 12noon-4pm. We can assist with planning your trip while visiting Mount Airy "Mayberry" North Carolina. The Andy Griffith Museum is also open 7 Days week and just few blocks from the Visitors Center.
Scarbro, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great tip on a restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My sister and I didn't know where to eat. We walked into the visitors' center and asked the lady at the desk (Friday evening, September 16 @ about 6 p.m.). I asked for something moderately priced, but not a diner type place. Right away she went to the kiosk and pulled out a post card for The Depot at Cody Creek.

We followed her excellent directions and had a great meal there.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chaz343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    60
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must stop”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The visitor center is well versed in sites in the entire area. Their friendly staff will make your stay most more enjoyable.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank wizofwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Start your Trip of "Mayberry" at the Mount Airy Visitors Center”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just visited Mount Airy (Mayberry), NC for the Andy experience. Your first stop should be the visitors Center on Main Street. They will give you a city map and mark all the stops you need to see. Most are already highlighted - Floyd's Barber Shop, Snappy Cafe, Wally's Garage, Old City Jail, etc. There are also two house (not the Andy sightseeing) tours to take in the city. You can see Andy's boyhood home, but it is now a B&B owned by the Hampton Inn. Be sure to eat at Barney's Cafe and ask for the Barney burger. Walk (don't drive) main street and visit the unique shoppes. So much more to do--plan on spending a day. Parking is free anywhere in the town. Many motels about a mile or so away just off Route 52 and I-77. Plan a side visit to Pilot Mountain (Mt. Pilot on the show) also about 11 miles south. Have some cash as the smaller shops do not take credit or debit cards. Most attractions are free, but several do have small fees. The visitor center is free. The staff are most helpful and will take the time to help you plan your day.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 1beach-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta GA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Any Grifith Museum is a blast from the past”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

As a stop on a family roadtrip, we went to the Andy Griffith museum in Mt Airy, NC. It was very nice and interesting, a $ 3 admission charge, very clean and well kept. Lots of artifacts from his various shows and other memorabilia. Well worth the stop if you want a side trip.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank johnucfsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mt Airy Visitors Center”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stopped here to get some info =-)The lady was very nice and helpful!Not once did we get lost and the maps helped to!Learned when we come back to stop here instead of the gas stations LOL

Helpful?
2 Thank TheBlairs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Airy Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to The Mount Airy Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing