We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way too much battered food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayflower Seafood

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mayflower Seafood
Ranked #63 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“way too much battered food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

it was good but way too filling - a lot of food for a relatively small price - they have since upgraded and added alcohol if that's your thing

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shanndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Airy NC
Level Contributor
451 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Side dish the Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The coleslaw here was better than my mother's. That's saying a lot. Both my husband and I had the regular size fried catfish because the choice is not offered under the Senior menu which is closer to the portion size that we usually eat. We weren't disappointed in the golden brown, lightly battered large pieces that we were served. Melinda was attentive and friendly. She kept the beverages topped off. I like to say a word about the man bussing the tables. He was fast, quite, leaving the tables clean. I appreciated a little noticed staff member doing his job well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I were in town for the weekend and decided to try the Mayflower because we have a Mayflower Seafood in Darlington, SC. We were not disappointed at all. The food was great just like home and our waitress was great! If you are looking for great seafood, friendly service and a family type atmosphere, then this is the place for you!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Customer service gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We went to Mayflower on Friday June 7, 2013. The food was good and I have never had a problem with the food but our waitress was not that great. First off she mixed up orders, she charged one of the guests with us for a large plate when he got a regular. Then the manager wanted to argue with the man about what he ordered and the started speaking in another language and yelling at the waitress. If it is like this next time I go, it will be the last time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeCoe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent, we got our food fairly quickly and it was delicious. We got there 30 min before they closed and we didn't feel rushed. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. Highly recommend eating here and would come again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kietch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing