We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pies”

Miss Angels Heavenly Pies
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: we are mount airy, north carolina's best kept secret in the south.....we do pie art, gourmet cakes for all occasions, cookies as big as your face, fruit danish and turnovers from our orchard, fresh breads and rolls daily, and the best pies in the state....we have been on tv july of 2013 for AMC Showville as a contestant, we were the ANA Agritourism guest speakers 2013, and were featured in Bake Magazine 2013. and just featured in the July 2016 issue of Our State Magazine
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent pies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything is the store looks amazing. We tried the mountain apple pie, which was excellent. And we do not typically like pies. Definitely worth a trip if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzedhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaNolfo, Owner at Miss Angels Heavenly Pies, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
thank you so much for coming to our little shop of pie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    30
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
362 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“We stopped in for dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband chose the individual berry pie and I chose the death by chocolate brownie with moonshine. The brownie was wonderful. It was dessert for three days and could have been four if I hadn't been such a pig the first day. Definitely the best desserts we had on this vacation!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaNolfo, Owner at Miss Angels Heavenly Pies, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
thank you so much for your wonderful review.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mmm Mmm Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Surely MarjorieD952 must have been having a bad day. Our experience last week at Miss Angel's was nothing short of delightful. Miss Angel was kind, courteous, and more than helpful. She has a warm and friendly atmosphere in her shop. From the moment you open the door the aroma harkens you back to another time when every town had a local bakery. Unlike the products found in the large supermarket bakeries of today Miss Angel's baked goods are truly one of a kind. In addition they are available for 2-day shipping. Pumpkin Pie for Tday can't wait! (Order Early)
Dave and friends

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pies, Pies, and more Pies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

and even a "moonshine apple pie"..!! Everything from mountain fresh apple pie, key lime pie, peach pie to pecan pie !! --this is NOT the place to think of calories !! turnovers--freshly made by the owners, yeast breads, raisen bread--still warm, carrot bars, small pies, whole pies.....you have to put this one on your list of "must dos" on Main Sreet. These are homemade by the owners who run the store..and they are more than pleased to help with anything. Great folks even tho they weren't born in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wolf19752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaNolfo, Owner at Miss Angels Heavenly Pies, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
thank you for your kindness, we now have over 40 varieties of pie flavors.....for the holidays we ship on line......come back any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What's better than fresh, warm pie?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After discovering this place on trip advisor, I added it to my things to do list when we visited the area last week. We stopped in on a Saturday afternoon and were shocked by the huge selection of goodies. I wanted a pie made with fresh fruit and our choice that day was peach - one of my favs. The counter person had to go get me one out of the back and, guess what? It was still hot!! It also weighed about 5 pounds. We took that to go and got a strawberry rhubarb turnover. The turnover was a disappointment. There was very little filling in it and way too much crust, which of course made it dry and not very tasty. The pie, which we had for dessert that night, was delicious. It was filled to the brim with locally grown peaches (I was told the owner has an orchard). The crust was not my favorite. I prefer a flakier crust - this one is heavier than I'm used to. But it was still worth indulging in!

I will return and be more selective next time, but I think fresh pie is the way to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjdisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaNolfo, Owner at Miss Angels Heavenly Pies, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Angels Heavenly Pies also viewed

 

Been to Miss Angels Heavenly Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing