We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bluebird Diner - CLOSED

Bluebird Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Description: Famous diner featured on the Andy Griffith show. Most popular food choice is the porkchop sandwich. This porkchop is so tender it's like eating pie. Best meal of our 3 day trip!
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The pork chop sandwich was great. The server was friendly but slow. The atmosphere was enjoyable. Loved my trip to Mayberry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food / Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to eat at the diner that Andy & Barney always referenced in The Andy Griffith Show. So we stopped in for a late (by Mt Airy standards) dinner. They had the fried porkchop sandwich on special and since I didn't get to eat at Snappy Lunch, I decided to go with that. It was delicious. I added chili and coleslaw and ordered a side of onion rings for the table. They made the onion rings to order (watched them cut the onions and all). The porkchop sandwich was tender and delicious. The chili and coleslaw was a great addition. The fries were just ok, but the sweet tea was really good. The staff was really friendly as well. Would recommend going here if you're in the Mt Airy area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped by mid afternoon for a scoop of ice cream. They were kind of busy so we sit at the counter and were waited on and served very quickly. Placed seemed very clean and the menu looked pretty good. The next time we are in the area we plan to stop by for a meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blue bird cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Burgers are good, your usual mom and pop diner. The meal was very good! Good burger, fries and soft drinks. Delicious milkshake

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam648288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stop for lunch mainly because of the name. Ordered Philly Cheese and it was in a small roll . Wife ordered Philly Steak and it was Steakums with mostly onions. Very sad. With name a person could be average with food and service and do well. Unfortunately I don't see that happening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebird Diner also viewed

 
Mount Airy, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing