We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Place”
Review of Bluebird Diner - CLOSED

Bluebird Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Description: Famous diner featured on the Andy Griffith show. Most popular food choice is the porkchop sandwich. This porkchop is so tender it's like eating pie. Best meal of our 3 day trip!
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great little place to grab a bite to eat...in the heart of Mayberry...Great Service and really good food!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheSnyders2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stopped her after a very hot day in Mt Airy. the Waitstaff from friendly, funny and took great care of us. the onion Rings, sundaes and shakes are very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McElspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“a good alternative”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Excellent shakes and onion rings, we go here when we can't get into snappy lunch!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheGrandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Porkchop Sandwich!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were there on Memorial Day and it was CROWDED!!!!!! Staff does NOT keep the place tidy and seem a little overworked, but the food was good. I've never had such a tender piece of meat. The best Filet Mignon's wouldn't come close to that porkchop melting in my mouth. I gave it an average rating only because I felt like the place should have been cleaner. The food and value for your meal was GREAT!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familygal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
256 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“My friends were jealous we dropped in at the Blue Bird..”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you watched the Andy Griffith Show you know about the BLue Bird Diner being mentioned. We had a snack of the famous "Hurricane Cake" there and it was fun to say that you were there. The food is mostly fries, burgers - generally that sort of fare and things like "key lime pie" for dessert. It was neat to try the house special dessert- the famous cake. Everyone we know is envious we were THERE- and like "Floyd the Barber" that shop is still there -- it was and is a part of legend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank triptique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebird Diner also viewed

 
Mount Airy, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing