We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice museum”

Mount Airy Museum of Regional History
Ranked #8 of 35 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This museum is so very nice. It covers history back to the local Indians. The firetrucks in the basement are worth seeing. The exhibits are well organized. The entire museum is very clean and cheerful. It was a highlight of our visit to Mt. Airy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a beautiful museum!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mt. Airy Museum is worth a couple of hours of your time to visit. It is a beautiful and interesting museum that tells the history of Mt. Airy and the surrounding area.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank RockyCreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, NC
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Just look for the bell tower”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The museum is in the heart of downtown; the building with the bell tower.

I always take our guests here. It is our only real museum (I live in Elkin). But, for a small town, the museum is done very professional and is pretty extensive.

Because of the museum, I learned a bit of new things about the area that I love and live. After the museum visit, I go to the granite quarry and the old resort/hotel that burned down. The resort is featured in the museum, and has a sulfur spring with lots of minerals in the water. Once some folks had come from Winston to fill up gallons and gallons of gugs with the water.

Don't forget to checkout the fire engines in the basement.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, SC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must if you enjoy history.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice to learn about history of early life of Mt. Airy.
It has everything from the Native Indians of surrounding area, Donna Fargo, Andy Griffith, famous race car drivers of the past,
quilts, old fire trucks, etc. and is only $5 a person

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cairhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Airy Museum of Regional History also viewed

 

Been to Mount Airy Museum of Regional History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing