We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayberry Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have stayed at Mayberry campground several times of the last several years. It is a clean , well run facility geared to full hookups although there is a small tent area. There is a laundry building and several shelters throughout the sites so groups can picnic and sit around the fire pits. Only one bath facility behind the office. The campground is just off I-74 so there is road noise on the sites close to the highway, barely any in the other sites. We usually have the heat or fans going so we don't really hear the road.
They are working on the Internet which is good near the office but very spotty farther away. The owners are very willing to help in anyway to make your stay comfortable. i
It is a very good value for the money. The area has many festivals and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank turf1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 80 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this campground.
Both times, we were very satisfied.
There aren't amenities like some campgrounds - no pool, no activites (that we were aware of).
However, it was very clean, very quiet and very close to Mt. Airy.
Easy to park camper, spacious.
I would definitely recommend this campground!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very small quaint but nothing to do at this campground. Is a perfect stop over to visit Mt. airy and all the town has to offer. Great mountain views and friendly campers. We stayed in a 35 foot motor home in a pull thru site. You get to pick your own site and if you pick a site close to the office you will get wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Mayberry Campground in Mt. Airy has no pool but does have rock-solid electrical service, good water pressure and excellent cable TV. The sites fit big rigs with some pull thru's. During North Carolina's sometimes severe mountain weather about two-thirds of the park is closed off. Water is maintained in the part that is open thru freeze-proof connections.However, your hose, lying on the ground IS likely to freeze, so disconnect your hoses at night.
Otherwise, during the summer season Mayberry is spacious
Mayberry is casually run and very friendly. Just like the TV show it's named for.
Roads are wide and have a crushed granite surface.
The location a few miles from I-77 via I-74 is easy to reach and is a good stopover for those coming down I-81 to I-77 on the way to Florida. It's also close to the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway.

Room Tip: Although Mayberry is big-rig friendly, make sure they know the size of your coach as not all sites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Airy hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
790 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
194 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
197 reviews
3.8 mi away
Knights Inn Mt Airy-Mayberry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayberry Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayberry Campground

Address: 114 Bunker Rd, Mount Airy, NC 27030-7691
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mount Airy
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayberry Campground is located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We currently have 106 sites that are all full-hook up with cable tv and wifi internet service. Amenities include 5 picnic shelters with fire rings and grills. The largest shelter also has a full kitchen. We also have two ponds that are catch and release as well as two playgrounds. We are conveniently located just over 1 mile from Walmart and various restaurants, 4 miles from downtown where all of the Mayberry attractions can be found, and a short 15 minute drive to Pilot Mountain. We are also surrounded by many wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing