We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade food in 2014!!”

The Derby Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 103 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mount Airy, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homemade food in 2014!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I am a regular at the Derby. I am a food person. Have done lots of research and travel and am so impressed with the work ethic in this place. the atmosphere is like family and the food is top quality! I have visited the very clean kitchen and witnessed the chicken and dumplings being made!! Wow ,,,,its a process. I do know the owners as well and I know they never shy away from a charitable contribution for the community and they take care of their employees if they are ever in a time of need. We need more business who care the way these people. do.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Libby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkin, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Diner with interesting history.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We finally got to eat at the Derby after several attempts where it was either closed or too busy. We were hoping the food was going to be great since it had been busy when we tried to visit. But, really the only thing interesting about this restaurant was its history. I had chicken and dumplings which were good but certainly did not taste homemade. The fried squash was good and fresh since there was very little breading like you see in most diners. We were ok with the meal as we like trying diners and know its not going to be a stellar meal. Everything was fine until my husband went to pay the bill and the owner was just a real grouch. Didn't say a word, just took my husband's money. Not the type of treatment we expect in NC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Livewiretrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Country Cooking”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Older restaurant, good service, great food, great value.
Historic restaurant. Nothing fancy but just good food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“old-school, cool eatery”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Leading into Mount Airy, NC (on old NC 52), years ago we started occasionally stopping at this well-known, family-owned, local "home cooking" establishment.

They have southern-style plates (like meat loaf, chicken & dumplings, pork bbq, veggie, etc.)... hot fresh sandwiches (hamburgers, hotdogs, etc.)... and good sides and desserts. A favorite treat for us is their chocolate ice cream.

If you are looking for authentic "old school" home-cooking... in a cool, unusual "round front" building... with great coffee and delicious sweet tea... at good prices...then this is your place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Most Bang for your Buck! Homecooking, great specials, excellent food!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Derby is a small town diner that has homecooked veggies, meats, etc. (meat and 3 veggies type), has excellent daily specials (all you can eat for $4.99), and the food is excellent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aamartin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Derby Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Derby Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing