We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 13 Bones

13 Bones
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hillsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food is Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Long wait in Line if you decide to eat at this restaurant on Friday or Saturday Nights. Food is Good but not worth waiting and hour or more just to get through the door to be seated. Get there Early!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snowinyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    111
    39
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The food was hot, cooked to order and reasonably priced! My steak was very good. The staff was friendly and the dining area was very clean!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TandT47265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My sister and I each had the 12oz ribeye and sides for her birthday dinner. The waitress was friendly, informed and patient as we made our choices and attentive throughout our meal. The ribeyes were just succulent. We both ordered medium-rare and the steaks were grilled beautifully on the outside with pinkness from edge to edge on the inside. Perfection! The seasoning was tasty but not overwhelming and the meat flavor was just singing. I had a glass of Calia Alta Malbec which I thought was a good choice with the steak. My sister received a complimentary wedge of Hershey Bar Cake with ice cream as a birthday treat. The cake was served warm and was chocolatey bliss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahLuke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy
1 review
“Great Food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had heard good things about this restaurant, especially the ribs! So I decided to try it....We were seated right away and the waitress we had was very nice and helpful. We didn't wait long for our food to come out and it was delicious! The atmosphere was also great, But before we left, while waiting to pay, Who I learned to be one of the owners, was standing at the register and when I tried speaking to her I got nothing in return. Which was very rude! It's a shame that the food was so good when you get service like that. And I'm not sure if I'll go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Dinner Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Another new town so we turned to our trusted Trip Advisor for suggestions for a place for supper. Unfortunately, our first choice was closed....Sunday night.. We chose 13 Bones because we like ribs & the reviews were pretty good.

We received quick friendly service. Our choices of entrees (1/2 rack ribs and 8 oz sirloin steak) came with two sides each (plus hush puppies or fries ). We ordered a bottle of Ravenswood Old Vine Zinfandel ($ 21) to enjoy with dinner.

Had half bottle wine left at end of meal. Our waitress said " won't bother me if you sit here" to finish wine or said she'd bring a bag for us to take. We also noticed the local cops were eating there.... Good sign.

Lots of locals eat here. Sunday night and all the tables seated around we visiting like long lost friends. Nice!

We had a good experience here & would certainly return. Picked up one of their cute TShirts too, the one that says "Great Food, Great Service, Great Times, Bad Parking" ;-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 13 Bones also viewed

 

Been to 13 Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing