We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good ole' days”

Walker's Soda Fountain
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Old fashioned soda fountain - new ownership - use old fashioned glass bowls/dishes. Also serve hotdogs and a couple of other small sandwiches.
Newton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The good ole' days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

A step back into the past. Enjoyed the food and the milkshakes were delicious. Really enjoyed it, and will defiantly be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rshook0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    49
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was the highlight of our visit. We talked to the man and his wife who were the operators and they gave us a great history lesson about the shop. The retired pharmacist came in and talked even more about the time that Andy grew up there and how all the school kids would come into the soda shop after school and more of the town's history. Everyone we talked with who was from Mt Airy was definitely interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank junglybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Banana Split and Root Beer Float”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We just came in for an ice cream delight. They serve food, too. We weren't disappointed. Luckily, we came in while it wasn't busy and we didn't have to wait like others after us. ( Only two people working the counter this day.) Sit at the counter! Lots of fun. The lady behind the counter knew a bit of Mayberry history and we enjoyed picking her brain about all things Mayberry. The ice cream was great but being there is the best thing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank msmarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I loved this place. Took me back in time and it is an incredible feat in this day and time. I will be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jills1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Co Usa
Level Contributor
178 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Old Fashioned Soda Fountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The ice cream used was premium and delicious. Prices were less than I would have expected. Maybe that is expected in North Carolina. I had a coconut soda with a large scoop of chocolate ice cream. My wife had a hot fudge sundae. For the price we expected smaller portions. We are not complaining. The gentleman behind the counter seemed to be enjoying his job as a soda jerk and shared conversation. Another place to enjoy in Andy's Mayberry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocolateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walker's Soda Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Walker's Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing