We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon ice cream”

Walker's Soda Fountain
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Old fashioned soda fountain - new ownership - use old fashioned glass bowls/dishes. Also serve hotdogs and a couple of other small sandwiches.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Afternoon ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I were in town seeing the town and stopped in for some ice cream. Very good! Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FourfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    49
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Loved the Banana Split!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

While visiting Main Street in Mt. Airy, we stopped by Walker's for a break. The banana split was awesome! You get three kinds of ice cream, all kinds of toppings and it's served in a bowl. The BLT was good as well. The staff and service was great and it was neat to step back in time here. It was crowded the day we visited, so if you get a chance to stop in, do it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 86MissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goode, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT banana split!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We decided after lunch at Snappy Lunch, we would stop at Walker's Drug Store which is the same as this Mayberry Soda Fountain. Not sure which is the current place, but we took a picture under the Walker's sign. We decided to share a banana split. It was DELICIOUS made with real chocolate, strawberry and vanilla ice cream (not soft serve) a whole banana, normal toppings and all served in a glass banana split bowl. It was wonderful!! Make a point to stop here on your visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski
Level Contributor
242 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Loved the Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We ate here a couple of times and loved it both times. The atmosphere is great and the employees are very friendly. The sandwiches are fairly good, but the ice cream treats are wonderful!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Grab a soda pop !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A must-visit for anyone. You cannot go back to Andy's childhood town without stopping in here for a soda pop or ice cream soda. Alot of history in this store on Main Street.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf19752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walker's Soda Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Walker's Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing