We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Walker's Soda Fountain
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Old fashioned soda fountain - new ownership - use old fashioned glass bowls/dishes. Also serve hotdogs and a couple of other small sandwiches.
Restaurant details
Description: Old fashioned soda fountain - new ownership - use old fashioned glass bowls/dishes. Also serve hotdogs and a couple of other small sandwiches.
Clayton, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

50s look, great icecream. My husband got a sugar free sundae and I got a normal one....very good...the service was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen51916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    53
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach SC - USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Walker's Soda Fountain .. must stop by”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

When in "Mayberry," take in all the local, old fashioned amenities that the town offers. It's a great experence. Try the annual festival if you can.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murrell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just what we ordered”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My sister and I stepped into Walker's Soda Fountain yesterday and were really glad we did. It's a must if you are visiting the area. The owner greeted us with a smile and was genuinely happy to serve us just a cup of coffee and an ice cream float, which were delicious. We chose counter service although there are tables and chairs as well. He was attentive and a great conversationalist without being intrusive. I can't imagine a trip back to Mt. Airy without a stop in at Walker's Soda Fountain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahLuke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
343 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Old time soda fountain, fun place”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A great fun place to visit in Mt Airy. Great Mat's and really great Ice cream soda's. Countain service with an ole time soda jockey. Great prices. Very fun place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Food mixed with a little drama...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Food was absolutely delicious, loved the music and David and his wife! Wonderful atmosphere. The only issue we had was with I think their daughter (seemed to be around the age of 16). I don't think she was having such a great day, but we were splattered with milk sitting at the bar while in anger she banged plates and trays around where we were. When asked to do something, she would yell saying she would get to it in a minute and when her father told her to chill out, she yelled at him where everyone in the store could hear it. Many customers around me were pretty shocked too. I mean who could be ill working in such a cute place like that!? We all get angry, but next time do it where people can't hear you or see you, it ruins the wonderful atmosphere and the friendly waiting from David and his wife.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank astroud_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walker's Soda Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Walker's Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing