We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Reason for Stopping”

The Andy Griffith Museum
Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Mount Airy
Attraction details
Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Our Reason for Stopping”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We came to this area for the soul purpose of visiting this Museum and other attractions related to Andy Griffith. We were fortunate enough to meet an extremely nice gentleman who gave us a lot of information about Andy and his childhood. We were pleasantly surprised to find his childhood home is available to rent. We intend to check out the area again and perhaps stay in the home where he grew up? We are long time Andy Griffith fans!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KissItGoodby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    188
    103
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the audio tour”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very nice staff. We opted for the audio tour. We were able to get much more out of the museum by hearing the audio tour. Lots of Andy memorabilia--very interesting. Not extremely exciting for little children. My 13 year old was interested, but my 3 year old was not.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, don't get the audio gadget...”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We grew up on Andy Griffith so were really looking forward to this trip.
When you get there for an extra 2 bucks you will get a nifty little device that plays back audio recordings of different things around the museum.
Well the quality of the recording was terrible, very unpleasant and not all that helpful because of it.
Don't get me wrong, it is well worth the trip as the memorabilia was fantastic!
Get the regular admission price of 3 bucks a person and browse away, you will have a blast...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ScubaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Filled Facts”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It had a little bit of everything about Andy Griffith. We were
quite surprised at all the memorabilia inside! Well worth the $3 admission.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The Andy Griffith Museum Chronicles Andy Griffith's Acting Career”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Andy Griffith Museum chronicles Andy Griffith's acting career mostly through old photographs and movie posters. We were hoping to see a wider variety of memorabilia. Visitors are reminded that he a starred in films and on the stage, was a musician and singer as well as the beloved Sheriff of Mayberry. There are a few articles of clothing and some of his guitars. Headsets are available with information about the exhibits. There is an unrelated Siamese Twins exhibit in a separate building. If you don't have the time or interest, feel free to skip it and make your way to downtown main street to continue your Mayberry experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Andy Griffith Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Andy Griffith Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing