We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Airy's version of the bar in Cheers”
Review of Pandowdy's Restaurant - CLOSED

Pandowdy's Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mt. Airy's version of the bar in Cheers”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Although we no longer live in Mt. Airy, we love going back to Pandowdy's whenever we're in town. Good food. Great beer selection. ACC basketball. Great conversation with fellow patrons.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MillsFamMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great steak, great service, great prices!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

While in Mount Airy for "Mayberry Days" we discovered Pandowdy's while looking for a restaurant for dinner with friends. My steak was incredibly delicious, very tender and very tasty. We can only imagine that the lunch fare is of an equally excellent level, so if in Mount Airy, skip the tasteless pork chop sandwich at Snappy and take a very short walk to Pandowdy's for some good food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 0neWhoLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good local (non-Mayberry) spot.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stopped for lunch while visiting Mt. Airy. It was recommended the evening before by a businessman that frequently visits the area.
It is not a tourist attraction and not a fancy place. Does not take credit cards, only cash or checks.
It is a great spot for an old fashioned lunch or dinner with an owner (Bob) who has been doing this for decades and one of the few old time NY Giant and Yankee fans in the area. Burgers on a flat top grill, so they char perfectly on the outside. Ours were a little overdone, but juicy and flavorful none the less. Excellent Homemade potato salad and soup. Menu had normal sandwiches, with some local and German items. Bob learned his trade in the military while serving in Germany. Dinner has more options such as Jagersnitizel platters and steak. Over 40 imported beers at reasonable prices. Add the friendly service and low prices and it certainly is a good spot to stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notanewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We took a ride to Mt. Airy for their Fall Festival. It was nice walking around but we wanted to sit and eat a relaxed meal inside and came across this restaurant. Luckily, there was one booth open for us.
Their menu featured a pork snitzel sandwich which I ordered and I really enjoyed it. The pork cutlet was crispy but not dry. My husband had a burger melt that he said was very good as well as their fries.
It is a friendly neighborhood place and if I was in Mt. Airy, I would eat there again!
Please note - this restaurant only takes cash or checks which could be a problem if you weren't prepared for that! In today's world, that is unusual.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not our first choice.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Our first choice for lunch was a closed because of street festival so stopped in here. Nothing out of the ordinary here except the salty Ruben. They were swamped due to the festival so I won't say much about the slow service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dstew7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pandowdy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing