We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Crabcake sandwich ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goober's 52 - CLOSED

Goober's 52
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Crabcake sandwich ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We are from the beach area and this was hands down the best crabcake sandwich!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kymberlia0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, WV
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food in a delightful atmosphere with excellent waitstaff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stopped in Goobers on our way to Myrtle Beach. The food was very good and there was a nice selection. We were seated immediately and our server was very prompt. The Macaroni was excellent and probably their best side, in my opinion. The quantity was so large that we were unable to eat everything and as we were traveling, we weren't able to take it with us. If you are lighter eaters, I recommend sharing an entree. All in all, it was a great dining experience to start our trip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WVFamilyBluefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good experience. A standout in the area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Unique is the word to describe Goobers 52. Offering seafood, sandwiches, pasta with a Gulf Coast ambiance in the midst of Mayberry, Goobers is a don't miss dining experience.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryMan1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food- friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had eaten at Goobers on previous trips to Mt Airy and have always enjoyed it. We love the muffelata, and be sure to try the fried mac-n-cheeese - it's the best! Goobers has an extensive beer menu, offering many from North Carolina micro breweries and they make one of the best margarita's around. Desserts are huge - you'll want to share. It's a casual, fun family atmosphere with inside and outdoor ( undercover) seating. Staff is friendly and informative. Just an all around great time!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GabanRysNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediochre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hubby had 1/2 muffaletta - it was huge and, he said very good.
I had the Cuban sandwich - not bad, but I've had better. It was more than I could eat.
Waitress seemed eager to free up our table. Kept asking if she could clear away this plate or that glass. We felt a little rushed.
Decor is kitchy - on the edge of tacky. Lots of square footage, not all put to use, giving the feel of a half-filled school gymnasium. Strings and strings of holiday lights which are probably festive in the evening. (We were thay during daylight hours.)
Prices - average.
Menu is extensive, and we'll probably give it another try when we are back this way.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llia9466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goober's 52 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing