We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”
Review of Trio Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Trio Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Went their for dinner on Satruday night. Head and shoulders above any other options in Mount Airy. Chef Wishart, formerly at Cross Creek Country Club, does a great job. Trio has only been open 4 weeks. Very nice menu and list of daily specials. EWell chsen and decently priced wine list. Celebrated my father's 96 birthday and we were not disappointed!! Very memorable evening.
Mentor
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Who would have thought in a little quiet place like Mount Airy there would be a 5 star restaurant. Awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GMLaMalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    22
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Has great potential but needs to step it up a bit”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went with friends on our anniversary weekend in the area. We were looking for a nice dinner in a more upscale atmosphere. This place is well located, but the service misses the mark. The waitress was sweet but lacked professionalism. In response to my question about the scallops she said, "They are pretty good coming from someone who doesn't like scallops." or something like that. I didn't get the scallops! Our food was tasty and cooked well, but there was something just okay about the place. It was a Saturday night and not at all crowded, which might be telling, or not. Considering that it's a little pricey for us I'm not sure I'd give them another chance. You have to win us over the first time around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pjdisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food and wine were superb. The sitting area is small which meant dining was such a pleasure. Not a lot of noise and hustle and bustle. Lot of value for the money spent. The servers were all pleasant and knowledgeable about the food and wine. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank crowder51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Nice and upscale but friendly”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Based on TripAdvisor ratings I stopped for a quick meal after coming into Mount Airy late. Decided to go light and tried their Oyster Salad. The oysters were extremely tasty but lightly fried and the dressing was very good. A nice selection of craft beers on tap and the service was coming from all directions - I had at least 4 different people serve me without being intrusive. I'll be back next time with customers! Thanks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaddioDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over Priced”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food and service was average, but the decor and setting is not worth the price of the meal. We had two entrees with water and one glass of wine for $75.00. It is not worth the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing