We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room service to Best Western hotel next door”

Brintle's Homestyle Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“room service to Best Western hotel next door”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

The restaurant does not have great food, after all, it's at a truck stop. Most food is going to be right out of a can, but, the fried chicken was good, but not fresh, the green beans were good and so was the rest of the food we ordered, We did not get a discount (guess you have to ask for it), but the delivery was quick. The convenience part of the truck stop has some quick meals and then you can go to the restaurant and order off the menu. There was not a buffett the morning when we came down. Got sandwiches to go. Prices are average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trekkergirl1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    22
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Beside of Best Western Hotel. They give hotel discount and provide room service. Service was outstanding.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you like microwaved leftovers and food from a can, this is the spot for you!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Traveling south on I-77 at dinner time, we were hungry and saw a billboard for Brintle's Homestyle Restaurant. Yum! When we arrived at the restaurant, we noticed it was a truck stop. We thought we were in luck because truckers love good food, right? - not in this case. There were items on the buffet that we couldn't identify, some sort of casseroles? Nothing was fresh, everything had been sitting for hours. I ordered a BBQ plate off the menu with pinto beans and fried apples as my side dishes. The BBQ tasted leftover from last week. The pinto beans were from a can and had no seasoning whatsoever. The fried apples never saw a frying pan. The cornbread could be used to build a patio. Everything seemed to be microwaved - everything. The prices are rather high. The only reason I exhalted Brintle's to a "poor" two star rating is because of the sweet lady who served us. She seemed genuinely embarrassed to place the food (I use that term loosely) in front of me. There is something very, very wrong going on at Brintle's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JinnieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Poorly run Buffet and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stopped for a good country breakfast and found ourselves seating ourselves and waiting for a waitress for 15 minutes. At first we felt bad for her because she was the only one on the floor running three large sections. Then when we got our coffees for breakfast , she insisted we order the buffet because our selections from the menu was already on the buffet and fresh. I still ordered from the menu, not wanting the buffet. Ordering only a side of corned beef hash , took her 1 hour to serve. I would understand the delay if everyone in the restaurant also ordered from the menu, but everyone was eating from the buffet. My patience were growing thin and my hunger increased.
My husband did order the buffet, but was told by the waitress the over easy eggs and toast could be ordered fresh, which he did. It took also an hour to get the two eggs brought to our table. They were hot when served , telling us they were not forgotten due to lack of help, she must never have put the order in till we begged for a plate for the buffet.
That's right there are no plates at the buffet and you must ask for a plate from the only waitress on the floor. The first plate given (15 minutes after ordering the buffet) my husband had only put two small items on the first trip not knowing there wouldn't be another plate given right away. It was 27 minutes later , till he could find our waitress to get another plate. He shared a small cup of grits with me.

I found this to be a waste of time and not top quality food. The hash was definitely from a can and not cooked well done as asked for. The ham and smoked sausage was good , but there wasn't much to have. The pans were not being refilled in a timely manner. The grits were bland and not creamy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“rip off!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had lunch here. They offer a buffet with home style cooking. The price is not listed on the menu. The only meat was fried chicken and the veggies looked overcooked. The greens beans tasted of metal that the waitress offered to scrap off our plates. The real shock was the price. $10.99 each with a senior discount plus the drink is extra. The total cost for this awful meal was $26.64. Please do not waste your money on this dump.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SSM2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brintle's Homestyle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brintle's Homestyle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing