We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Libby Hill Seafood

Libby Hill Seafood
Ranked #17 of 103 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American
Description: located inside the Mayberry Mall
Restaurant details
Description: located inside the Mayberry Mall
Boonville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good food and lots of it. We just came back from the Outer Banks and the seafood was better there. But for a local seafood place it was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    6
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsend DE
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for the $$”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great service, great food and great people. A great amount of food for the money--you won't leave hungry from here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barbsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Greasy, unflavorful fish.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My family used to enjoy Libby Hill Seafood so much when they had a restaurant on the southside of Forsyth County. We were very sad when they closed, and on a recent trip to Mr. Airy, we decided to stop and dine. We were there on a busy Saturday evening, but the service was quick and efficient. We ordered fried clams and fried oysters. We noticed on the menu that all their fish is fried using 100% vegetable oil, but that's all we could taste. The oysters were very small and had no flavor. The clam strips were greasy-tasting and bland. We were SO DISAPPOINTED! I ordered a small salad, and it was delicious. We both loved the slaw but felt like they could have drained it a little before spooning it into the cup. Sorry to give such a bad review, but we both left the restaurant with a greasy coating in the roof of our mouths, and we left craving the seafood that we had been so excited about eating. Both of us suffered intestinal issues later that evening and for a while the next morning, and we attribute it to the heavy concentration of oil used to fry the oysters and clams.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacationermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fried all around”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Cute country atmosphere. Nice people and decent fried food. The shrimp cocktail was good and the sauces to match.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALMB1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Servers were really friendly and food was good. Had Catfish and it was just right. The portions were large and filled us that most took to-go boxes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MotorcycleCCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libby Hill Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Libby Hill Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing