We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotel was great for one night in Mt. Airy as we started our trip back home from WV and VA. Very convenient. I try and stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when I am in smaller towns since I travel a lot for work and feel very safe at the hotels and they have the same expectation of cleanliness that I have. Only downside was we were in room 200 and the wifi signal kept going in and out. If I was on a business trip, it would have been a bigger issue, but last day of vacation so it was fine. We mostly stay out of the room and visited several local vineyards (Stoney Knoll is our favorite) and downtown Mt. Airy.

Room Tip: Room 200 is at the end of the hallway and very private. However wifi signal is weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met most of your expectations.

We were really disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the internet service. My guess is your computer was not picking up a strong signal from one of our nine towers we have throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 311 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently stayed three nights here. We have stayed in hotels all over the US and abroad, of all star levels, and for a basic "express" hotel, this was about the cleanest and well-maintained we have ever seen. You can tell the staff here takes pride in their work. We thought the hotel was new, but in fact, it is four years old. Staff was friendly and helpful, the pool was nice, and again, we were so impressed with the cleanliness. Just a pleasant, clean hotel! We stayed in a suite, so had a little more room with a refrigerator/microwave....nice.

Room Tip: Suites were nice and had refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeybee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations and all our guest rooms have refrigerators and microwaves.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Wonderful stay for one night. The hotel was convenient to town and restaurants. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was a wonderful treat. We didn't use pool. Room has small refrigerator and microwave. Would definitely stay here again. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-Ma30474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations and all our guest rooms have refrigerators and microwaves.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Shirley was great during happy hour. Very friendly. Front desk staff also eagerly ready to help. Will stay here again for sure. Business or pleasure, this would be a great place to stay. Clean rooms, sheets, bathrooms, and great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you. I will pass on your comments to Shirley.

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the local wine selection we use during our Manager’s Reception Monday thru Thursday.
.
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Well maintained property..VERY HELPFUL, FRIENDLY STAFF...Jennifer was very helpful in resolving an issue with our room....she always greeted us warmly & was anxious to assist in making sure our stay was good.good location for mt.Airy & Pilot Mount... Only issue was the internet.... Slow & disconnected frequently... Clean..comfortably ... Would def stay there again,..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfhtrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We were really disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the internet service. Our internet system does reset itself and require you to put the password in, every twelve hours or so. My guess is your computer was not picking up a strong signal from one of our nine towers we have throughout the hotel. I am not sure if you tried calling our tech support for help?

I am glad to see that Jennifer was able to help with your guest room requests.

Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very clean and nice. Beautiful rooms beds slept great! Staff was the best! Janice on night desk was the most friendly helpful person I have ever encountered at a hotel! All staff was super! Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillieCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.

I will pass on your comments to Janice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I recently spent 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel staff, cleanliness, value, and property maintenance were excellent. The breakfast was much better than the usual coffee and stale muffin I am used to in a lot of hotels. When I return to Mt. Airy, I will definitely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roydlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.

We feel a hot breakfast is a good way to start the day and you will find that our breakfast is consistent with all other Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

See you the next time you are in Mount Airy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
622 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Address: 1320 Ems Dr, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range: $106 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing