We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant weekend trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant weekend trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed three nights at this HI Express as our "home base" while visiting the Mt Airy area. It was a positive experience overall. We we close to everything we wanted to see.."Mayberry", the state parks and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The staff was friendly & helpful; the property very well maintained and our suite was spotless. Breakfast was good with one minor disappointment...the only meat served was sausage gravy. If you are not a fan of this, then you are out of luck for breakfast meats.

The negatives while few need to be mentioned. The drinking water was so chlorinated it tasted as if it had been pumped directly from the pool! Also, a large group of youth basketball players were staying at the hotel while in town for a tournament. Overall, this group definitely lacked adult supervision. The girls ran up and down the halls, yelling late into the evening and very early in the morning. They took over the breakfast room, leaving a large mess on both Sat. & Sun. mornings. They also took over the pool and hot tub to the point other guests couldn't use them. This group's behavior was not the fault of the hotel of course, but I think the staff could have done more to calm things down.

If we decide to visit the area again, we will chose this hotel, but will check on large groups staying here before making reservations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Our goal is to meet your needs with a clean, comfortable room and friendly staff.

In regards to the breakfast that we serve. Each day we change our meat selection from Ham, bacon, sausage links, sausage patties to sausage gravy. During the weekend we trend for the sausage gravy with biscuits.

We try our best to control the noise levels when there is youth tournaments. We do work with each team to make sure they are controlling their groups, however that does not happen all the time. I do apologize for that and we will continue to enforce this with team coaches.

I am glad to hear that you will return to our hotel if you are ever planning on visiting this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    83
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
110
121
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed three nights here to visit Mabry Mill on the parkway in Virginia as well as some other sites in the area. Great hotel and great rate on the Holiday Inn website. Only negative was the battery giving out at 3:45am in our smoke detector in our room. Guess staff can't predict that happening :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pop-grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Our goal is to meet your needs with a clean, comfortable room and friendly staff.

I am so sorry that the smoke detector woke you up. I hope you brought this to our manager on duty.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Mount Airy and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Cacapon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Hotel is wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful and they welcomed my husbands service dog with open arms and made us feel at home.. The food was great and the hotel was very clean.. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The evening get together in the dining room for beverages and snacks was quite a nice touch. The lady was so nice and friendly..We loved the trip the town and the people.. didn't want to leave and come home.. We will be back and stay at this Hotel again..

Room Tip: Traveling with a pet, no problem the rooms are clean and spacious..We had two different rooms one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you.

I hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
169 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Agree with most previous posts - staff were pleasant and accommodating - facility and grounds were clean and well kept - room was comfortable - breakfast was typical for this level hotel (plenty of choices) - plenty of restaurant choices nearby - the only downside was the internet service - very spotty during peak hours plus I had difficulty with https (secure site) addresses - kept getting knocked off - which was annoying since most of my work related sites are this type. If I return to the area, I will try another hotel for this reason alone. Otherwise, if internet is not important - this is a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Our goal is to meet your needs with a clean, comfortable room and friendly staff.

I am sorry to hear that you were having internet problems. I am not sure if you realized that our hotel offers both wired and wireless internet services in all our guest rooms. At times if using wireless your signal could get weak and even drop off. That is not a common issue but that could have happened to you. I would recommend going to our wired interenet connection when working with secured websites. I would also recommend calling the hotels technical support company.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and your comments regarding our internet service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel on our trip home to Georgia after driving our daughter to college in New York state, and the stay was better, if that's possible. Two ladies at the desk at check-in were friendly and made the courtesy call to the room a little later to make sure the room was to our liking. We had the king suite again(room 408) which has lots of floor space, "kitchenette" with microwave, coffeemaker, sink & refrigerator, very comfortable king bed and pull out sofa(which we didn't use)and an easy chair with ottoman. Good lighting throughout and plentiful plugs for electronics. Also, internet speed was fast. The room & bathroom were very clean & fresh-bathroom with tub/shower combo had above par towels, good water pressure & decent shower head. There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel & a Walgreen's across the street.

We enjoyed our quick stay here again & would be back in the future if it weren't for a dispute with IHG customer service about an erroneous charge on our credit card for a previous reservation. As frequent travelers(IHG Gold, Marriott Platinum Elite & Hilton Diamond), we have never been treated so poorly over a disputed charge as we have been with IHG. So, sorry HIE Mount Airy, but we will not be staying with you or any other IHG brand hotel again. Thanks, though, for making our stay enjoyable!

Room Tip: Room 408 is a king suite with a pullout sofa that faces the front of the hotel. It was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinkytoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you.

I do know the background with your reservation issues that you had with another IHG hotel or the Customer Service Department at IHG, but please do not hold that experience from staying with us again in the future. Please remember that each IHG hotel is independently owned and operated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express as a halfway point on our way to St. Helena, South Carolina. The check-in staff was friendly and most accommodating. In fact, extremely apologetic when I had to wait until she had completed a detailed check-in with another guest. The highlight of our stay was the hospitality or happy hour event because we had a chance to sample local wines from nearby vineyards. The lady who served us was warm and so enjoyable to talk to while making us feel like we were guests in her home. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed comfortable. If I had more time, I would have taken a dip in the pool located right outside our room because it looked so inviting! The breakfast did not disappoint because I have always felt that all Holiday Inn Express Hotels have the best hot breakfasts. I highly recommend anyone passing through the area to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanadelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you.

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the local wine selection we use during our Manager’s Reception Monday thru Thursday.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast. It is nice to wake up to a hot breakfast, and the Holiday Inn Express & Suites has one of the best.

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Clean room, comfortable bed, staff was very helpful, breakfast was good. Had a indoor pool and hot tub. Managers reception was ok. We don't drink but we had a soft drink and some chex mix. Lot of restraunts in the area. would stay there again if in that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you.

Thanks for the recommendation for future reviewers looking at your posting. Hope to see you back in the future if your lodging needs takes you back through Mount Airy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
17.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Address: 1320 EMS Drive, Mount Airy, NC 27030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing