We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You're Staying In "Mayberry"...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

...this is the place to stay. My wife and I booked here because of the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, but we had no idea what a pleasure this property would be. The manager on duty, Jennifer, was a delight. A total professional with more than a dash of southern hospitality. The hotel itself rivaled many 4-star hotels we've stayed at...large, spacious rooms that were spotless and a free breakfast buffet that would put some restaurants to shame. If you're in town to experience the many Andy Griffith sites, or if your business brings you to the area, this is the only hotel you should consider. Excellent on all counts!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Section147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I were on a tour of the Blue Ridge Parkway, and Mount Airy is just a few miles south of that famous road. This HIE is on a busy stretch of highway, but is set far enough back that sleeping is no problem, even when facing the road. The hotel is brand new, and our room was spacious. The bathroom had granite counters and a huge shower with a wide door. There was a mini-fridge and microwave, and the breakfast was a better than the average HIE, although they have the usual cinnamon rolls, yogurt, cereal, biscuits and so forth.

There are restaurants aplenty nearby, also. The staff was friendly, and there were cookies on the check in/out counter, and we did not take advantage of it, but the desk clerk told us they have "happy hour" from 5:30-7:30. All in all, this was indeed the best HIE property I have visited, and I have stayed in several in the southeast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgiaGal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel is only 15 months old, so everything is still in great shape. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Above all the amenities, free hot breakfast, indoor pool, etc., the clerks at the front desk are the friendliest of any I have ever dealt with. Carolyn is especially friendly, which reflects well for the hotel, and I am proud to say that I have had the opportunity to meet her. Other comments have mentioned her as being one of the best, and I wholeheartedly agree. We are going back for Mayberry Days and look forward to seeing her again and to staying at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Mount Airy, NC. Attention Holiday Inn management...you have a keeper here. Don't mess it up!

Room Tip: Speak to Carolyn at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingtomnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel one night on May 1, 2011 and paid $77.00 plus tax. The hotel is new and well taken care of. Nothing special with our stay other than it was a nice clean stop. The one item which stood out above all of our other hotel stays during this vacation was the friendly Desk Clerk. I wish I could recall her name to add to this review. The hotel manager should appreciate this employee.
We stopped here to visit the Andy Griffin Museum and home town. I recommend this to any Mayberry fan who is coming near this town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alanc125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet the most. Excellent! No in room safe. Could here the man in the next room snoring. Indoor pool very small. Four strokes will drive you the length of the pool. Friendly staff. Enjoyed the free glass of wine at the reception, just wish the hostess had been chatty. Tip--when you get off exit 11 and make a left on to 601/Rockford look for KFC bucket in sky on the left and Burger King beyond it. Make a left beyond KFC, but before Burger King--that is EMS drive, the HEI is straight ahead. Be careful when making the left turn. The middle lane is for left turns in both directions. 60l gets busy. Sometimes you must make a right turn, then turn around to go into town. HEI convenient to all points of interest.

Room Tip: Elevator slow. 2nd floor the best. 1st fl pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank 72unsuited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This hotel is fairly new and extremely clean and well maintained. The staff (Carol at the desk) could not have been nicer! The whole family enjoyed this friendly town (dont miss the ice cream shop!). Never felt so welcome at a hotel, thanks again Carol!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcg070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stopped after driving 11 hours. Greeted by very pleasant desk personnel. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Quiet location. Kids loved the pancake machine at the breakfast buffet. Very nice place when you need to rest after a long day of travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oletroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
795 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
194 reviews
7 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
197 reviews
11 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
19.8 mi away
Best Western Yadkin Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Address: 1320 Ems Dr, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range: $106 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing