We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You gotta have the pork sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Snappy Lunch

Snappy Lunch
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Davenport, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You gotta have the pork sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Cute little diner on main street. great cheery service. excellent comfort food at a great price. This is a great bit of Americana. If I lived there I would be a regular.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    169
    57
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The Snappy lunch is a legend that must be tried by anyone that visits Mt Airy.the food is really pretty good, I like the pork chop sandwich, hot and juicy. Kinda sloppy if you get it all the way, but that is what napkins are for. The sausage sandwich is good and flavorful patty on a bun. The hot dog was very good. Of course the prices are very reasonable. There are no fries or sides other than bag-o-chips. The server talked a hundred miles an hour and was hard to understand. She threw things to the people next to us and was telling us how she could not wait until closing so she could get out of there. Otherwise I would give it four stars for nostalgia and value, but it gets a three because of the server. It is worth a try, just not on a busy Saturday.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Step back in time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

After my hair cut with Floyd we stopped into Snappy Lunch for a bite. The line was at the door! Must be something to what we had been hearing?! Step in and yes it is old! A grill at the front window right beside the front door so the patrons can see what's cooking! Pictures of Andy Griffith and Don Knots adorn the walls. A very simple menu. Your basic breakfast menu and burgers, bologna, grilled cheese, hot dogs and their famous pork chop sandwich! So that's what I had! Two pork chops, sweet chili, mustard and a slice of tomato...all the way includes mayo, slaw and onions! Mmmmmm gooood! Served wrapped in sandwich paper. One size drink(small styrofoam cup) which never got empty and chips! Oh yea, they served it up snappy, thus the name! Don't go expecting Ruth's Chris! Step back into time for and old fashion breakfast or lunch where Andy use to eat and enjoy the allure of a Snappy Lunch in Mount Airy!

Helpful?
3 Thank BigDaddyBEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the best in the world”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

The pork chops were pre made and tasted ok. They don't offer french fries just small bags of potato chips. Its good to go just to say you have been there but I probably wouldn't go again. Maybe if they cooked them made to order it would be better and worth going again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kyomitaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Iconic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The unique nature of the restaurant and the town provide enough context to earn it top marks. For at least the first visit. Minimal implements make it a fun service. Good staff. Fast service. Homey atmosphere provides great ambiance. A must at least once. Visitors love it along with the souvenir T shirt of Andy Griffith.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dubaiidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snappy Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Snappy Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing